Ashok Dinda (File Photo)    IANS
Ashok Dinda (File Photo) IANS

Chhattisgarh vs Bengal, Raipur

A game that was dominated by Bengal saw them post an innings and 160-run win over Chhattisgarh in Round 2 of Ranji Trophy 2017-18. Bengal have earned 6 points with this win and total of 10 points after two matches. They are placed at the top of the Group D table.

The game was done in half an hour of the final day. Starting the day at 229 for 5, the Chhattisgarh batsmen were swept away by Bengal s Mohammed Shami and Ashok Dinda. The duo shared 9 wickets between them to bowl out Chhattisgarh for 259.

The only stand out from the Chhattisgarh batting was Abhimanyu Chauhan s century and Ashutosh Singh s 71. Once the top-order was done, the collapse began. In addition of 30 runs, Chhattisgarh lost the remaining five wickets as well. Dinda ended with 10-wicket haul while Shami bagged 8 wickets.

Bengal batsmen too were fluent. Abhishek Raman s 94, Koushik Ghosh s 114 and Sudip Chatterjee s 118 laid the foundation for Bengal.

Brief scores:

Bengal 529 for 7 (Abhishek Rama 94, Sudip Chatterjee 118, Koushik Ghosh 114; Shubham Singh 4 for 162) beat Chhattisgarh 110 & 259 all out (Abhimanyun Chauhan 112, Ashutosh Singh 71; Mohammed Shami 6 for 61, Ashok Dinda 3 for 26) by an innings and 160 runs.

Man of the Match: Ashok Dinda

Bengal: 6, Chhattisgarh: 0

Himachal Pradesh vs Goa, Dharamsala

The game that belonged to Himachal Pradesh after their first essay score of 625 for 7 ended in a shocking draw. Goa managed to bag a point from this game.

Starting the day 131 for no loss, the openers Sumiran Amonkar and Swapnil Asnodkar built 299-run stand for the opening wicket. The duo smashed centuries giving tough time to the Himachal bowlers. Both the openers succumbed to mix ups and lost their wickets to run out. Gaining inspiration from his openers, skipper Sagun Kamat also notched up fifty and received able support from Amogh Sunil Desai. The duo remained unbeaten on 67 and 35 respectively.

Goa in the process covered the deficit of 380 with much ease and the drew the game with the innings reading 426 for 2.

Himachal Pradesh kept their best foot forward since the Day One. They bundled out Goa for 255 with bout of scores from Kamat, Darshan Wagha Misal and Samar Shravan Dubhashi. However, it was the tail-end that rose the occasion. An unbeaten fifty from Rituraj Singh helped Goa cross the 250-run mark. Himachal s Pankaj Jaiswal shone with the ball scalping 4 wickets.

Ranji Trophy 2017-18 Points Table, Team Standings, Match Results
Ranji Trophy 2017-18 Points Table, Team Standings, Match Results

In response, Himachal set a herculean task for Goa. Centuries from Priyanshu Khanduri, Ankush Bains and Nikhil Gangta boosted Himachal s score to 450-plus. With the help of Amit Kumar s fifty, Himachal eased to 500-plus. Himachal also saw the heroics of Jaiswal who scored second fastest fifty in Ranji Trophy off only 16 deliveries. His unbeaten 20-ball 63 comprised of 4 fours and 7 sixes.

Goa s collective bowling effort from Saurabh Bandekar, Felix Alemao and Shadab Bashir Jakati went in vain.

Brief scores:

Goa 225 & 426 for 2 (Sumiran Amonkar 137, Swapnil Asnodkar 167, Sagun Kamat 67*) drew to Himachal Pradesh 625 for 7 (Priyanshu Khanduri 117, Ankush Bains 143, Nikhil Gangta 127*, Amit Kumar 97; Saurabh Bandekar 2 for 140)

Man of the Match: Pankaj Jaiswal

Himachal Pradesh: 3, Goa: 1

Punjab vs Vidarbha, Mohali

Vidarbha s dominance over Punjab ended on Day Three earning 6 points after they won by an innings and 117 runs. Their excellence with the bat and ball added heavy pressure on Punjab.

Vidarbha built mammoth score of 505 with a lead of 344 runs, courtesy Sanjay Ramaswamy s 161 and Ganesh Satish s 164. On the other hand, Punjab committed the same errors as that of the first innings collapsing to 113 for 5 in the second, barring Manan Vohra s fifty. After his dismissal, Punjab found little hope through Yuvraj Singh and Abhishek Sharma to keep Vidarbha team at bay. However, their hopes were dashed when Yuvraj was scalped for 42. Soon, Abhishek also fell for 49.

The ambidextrous Akshay Karnewar ended with six wickets and got complete support from his spin partner Akshay Wakhare who also ended with 4 wickets, handing an easy victory to Vidarbha. Ganesh Satish was awarded Man of the Match.

Brief scores:

Punjab 161 & 227 all out (Manan Vohra 51, Yuvraj Singh 42, Abhishek Sharma 49; Akshay Karnewar 6 for 47, Akshay Wakhare 4 for 83) lose to Vidarbha 505 all out (Sanjay Ramaswamy 161, Ganesh Satish 164; Abhishek Sharma 4 for 136) by an innings and 117 runs.

Man of the Match: Ganesh Satish

Vidarbha: 6, Punjab: 0