Manoj Tiwary scored 123    AFP
Manoj Tiwary scored 123 AFP

At Kolkata: Abhishek Raman laid the platform for Bengal s big score on Day One with a scintillating 176-run knock. On Thursday, skipper Manoj Tiwary stole the show with a composed 123. He was supported by Shreevats Goswami before Mohammed Shami went bonkers down the order. Bengal eventually reached 419.

In reply, Himachal are tottering at 163 for 5. Priyanshu Khanduri and Sumeet Verma got scored fifties, but Himachal lost wickets at regular intervals. Ashok Dinda and Shami took 2 wickets apiece to dent Himachal s progress. A tough day is in store for Himachal.

Brief scores:

Bengal 419 (Abhishek Raman 176, Manoj Tiwary 123, Shreevats Goswami 28; Rishi Dhawan 4 for 86) lead Himachal Pradesh 163 for 5 (Priyanshu Khanduri 52, Sumeet Verma 64; Ashok Dinda 2 for 39, Mohammed Shami 2 for 74) by 256 runs.

At Raipur: Hosts Chhattisgarh are on the back foot against Punjab. After being dismissed for 238, Chhattisgarh bowlers had no response to Anmolpreet Singh and Gurkeerat Singh Mann. Both men got hundreds with a strike rates in excess of 90. Opener Jiwanjot Singh s 75 added to Chhattisgarh s miseries. As a result, Punjab lead by a whopping 243 runs, and will like to dictate terms tomorrow.

Brief scores:

Chhattisgarh 238 (Jatin Saxena 52, Vishal Singh 76; Manpreet Gony 4 for 41; Vinay Choudhary 3 for 56) trail Punjab 481 for 6 (Jiwanjot Singh 75, Anmolpreet Singh 171, Gurkeerat Singh Mann 111; Shourabh Khairwar 3 for 90) by 243 runs.

At Nagpur: Vidarbha lead Services by 244 runs at stumps. Resuming at 259 for 3, Faiz Fazal fell early. He added only 8 runs to his overnight score of 128. The bulk of work was carried from Ganesh Satish, who was supported by a stubborn lower-order. Vidarbha folded for a competitive 385.

Services clawed their way back after reducing Vidarbha from 282 for 4 to 385. However, they have lost wickets at regular junctures to be reeling at 141 for 4. They trail by 244 and need a big innings from set batsman Rahul Singh.

Brief scores:

Vidarbha 385 (Faiz Fazal 136, Ganesh Satish 78; Sanjay Ramaswamy 55; Nitin Tanwar 2 for 44, Khalid Ahmad Zahid 2 for 83) lead Services 141 for 4 (Ravi Chauhan 44, Rahul Singh 57*; Akshay Wakhare 3 for 43) by 244 runs.