Cheteshwar Pujara was named Man of the Match for the Saurashtra-Jharkhand clash    AFP
Cheteshwar Pujara was named Man of the Match for the Saurashtra-Jharkhand clash AFP

At Valsad: Yet another remarkable performance from Piyush Chawla handed Gujarat their third win in Ranji Trophy 2017-18. Chawla picked 9 wickets in the match. He received able support from Siddharth Desai who took 5 wickets in the second innings to defeat Haryana by 238 runs. Gujarat rules Group B table with 19 points.

This was the fifth time Chawla has taken four or more wickets off six innings. That builds his tally of wickets in the championship to 26.

At stumps on Day 3, Haryana were reduced to 94 for 7. Overnight batsman Harshal Patel was dismissed early on in the first session, handing Desai his fifth scalp. However, Sanjay Pahal counterattacked the Gujarat bowling. He top-scored (41), taking Haryana beyond the 100-run mark. Chawla (5 for 44) returned to the attack and bowled out Haryana for 122, bagging his third five-wicket haul in this championship.

Brief scores:

Gujarat 236 & 281 (Priyank Panchal 67, Bhargav Merai 66; Ashish Hooda 4 for 79) beat Haryana 157 & 122 (Harshal Patel 19, Sanjay Pahal 41; Siddarth Desai 5 for 46, Piyush Chawla 5 for 44) by 238 runs

Man of the Match: Siddarth Desai

At Thiruvananthapuram: Debutant Akshay KC shone in Kerala s victory ending with his maiden five-wicket haul in the second innings. Kerala trumped Jammu & Kashmir by 158 runs to take the second spot in the points table.

Chasing target of 238, Jammu & Kashmir were reduced to 56 for 7 on Day 3. They slid further on Day 4 being bowled out for 79 handing Kerala their third win. Pervez Rasool (17) was the top scorer.

Akshay who was on top with 4 wickets in the first-essay added 5 more to build his tally to 9 for 58. Meanwhile, Rasool s 11-wicket haul went in vain.

Brief scores:

Kerala 219 & 191 (Rohan Prem 58, Arun Karthik 36; Pervez Rasool 5 for 70) beat Jammu & Kashmir 173 & 79 (Pervez Rasool 17; Akshay KC 5 for 21) by 158 runs

Man of the Match: Sanju Samson

At Rajkot: Sumit Kumar and Nizam Siddiqui s blistering top order knocks handed Saurashtra their second win. Saurashtra were set 59 to win. While chasing, they lost their top 4 batsmen in the process. With a 6-wicket win they have marched back to the top of Group B taking the third place.

With 144 runs required to make hosts bat again, Jharkhand resumed their day at 139 for 1. Sumit (108) and Siddiqui s (99) knocks covered the deficit. Siddiqui was the first wicket to have been claimed for the day, in turn missing his century by a run. Sumit then went on to notch up his century before lunch break.

The middle-order comprising of Saurabh Tiwary, Ishank Jaggi, Ishan Kishan and Kaushal Singh showed resistance with their gritty knocks. However, they succumbed to the Jadeja s. While Dharmendrasinh ended with 4 for 108, Jaddu scalped 2 wickets to end Jharkhand s innings for 341.

In response, the Jharkhand bowlers began well claiming early wickets of Cheteshwar Pujara and Snell Patel. But Robin Uthappa, Chiraj Jani and Sheldon Jackson ensured the target was achieved within 14 overs.

Brief scores:

Saurashtra 553 for 9 & 59 for 4 (Robin Uthappa 17, Chirag Jani 16*; Ashish Kumar 2 for 20) beat Jharkhand 270 & 341 (Nazim Siddiqui 99, Sumit Kumar 108; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4 for 108, Ravindra Jadeja 2 for 44) by 6 wickets

Man of the Match: Cheteshwar Pujara