Parthiv Patel    AFP
Parthiv Patel AFP

At Surat: Rajasthan trail by 265 runs with 6 wickets remaining on Day Three of Round 6, Ranji Trophy 2017-18.

After scoring 450 for 3 on Day Two, defending champions Gujarat lost only captain Parthiv Patel for 173. Manprit Juneja would have become the fourth centurion of the innings, but Gujarat declared as soon as they surpassed 600.

Rajasthan continued to falter with bat. Opener Amitkumar Gautam scored a mere 7. However, the 115-run stand between Chetan Bist and his namesake Robin provided the much-needed impetus.

In the pursuit of a breakthrough, Parthiv brought Siddharth Desai into the attack. The ploy worked, as Chetan was dismissed for 54. In came Arjit Gupta and continued the good work. All the same, Gujarat yet again provided resistance and stopped Robin from reaching the three-figure mark.

Brief scores:

Rajasthan 153 (Rajesh Bishnoi 43*, Chintan Gaja 8 for 40) and 183 for 4 (Robin Bist 81; Siddharth Desai 2 for 68) trail Gujarat 601 for 4 decl. (Priyank Panchal 152, Bhargav Merai 110, Parthiv Patel 173; Tajinder Singh 1 for 100) by 265 runs.

At Rohtak: Haryana lead by 169 runs with 1 wicket remaining.

Haryana did well to bundle Jammu & Kashmir for 176 and take an 18-run lead. However, their batters continued to put the wrong foot forward. After a 40-run stand between Guntashveer Singh and Chaitanya Bishnoi for the second wicket, Haryana lost 3 wickets on the same score. They were lucky that Rajat Paliwal provided late blitz and took them to 161 for 9 at the end of day’s play. Ram Dayal took 5 for 42.

Brief scores:

Haryana 184 (Amit Mishra 41; Ram Dayal 5 for 57) and 161 for 9 (Rajat Paliwal 45; Ram Dayal 5 for 42) lead Jammu & Kashmir 176 (Ahmed Bandy 67; Ashish Hooda 3 for 38) by 169 runs.

At Thiruvananthapuram: Saurashtra need another 375 runs to win.

Even if Saurashtra end the match in a draw, they will get 3 points as they had taken first-innings lead. Kerala, however, will give their all to remove the remaining 9 wickets.

After finishing Saurashtra’s innings, Kerala blasted 411 for in 92 overs on Day Three before declaring. Sanju Samson was the star of the day, scoring 175 off 180. This was Samson s third hundred in three matches. Although Jaydev Unadkat conceded over 4 runs an over, he finished with 4 for 153.

Brief scores:

Kerala 225 (Sanju Samson 68; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 6 for 112) and 411 for 6 decl. (Sanju Samson 175; Jaydev Unadkat 4 for 153) lead Saurashtra 232 (Robin Uthappa 86; Sijomon Joseph 4 for 43) and 30 for 1 (Snell Patel 15*; Sijomon Joseph 1 for 9) by 374 runs.