Shreyas Iyer    PTI
Shreyas Iyer PTI

At Indore: Resuming at 191 for 6, Tamil Nadu s lower order had the task to propel the score beyond Madhya Pradesh s 264. They delivered, courtesy Yo Mahesh s 103 not out, M Mohammed playing second fiddle with 43. The pair added 92 for the eighth wicket. This was Yo Mahesh s second score of 103* this season: he had earlier done the same against Mumbai. These are also his first two hundreds, from 49 First-Class matches.

TN got a vital 62-run lead but MP have ended the day s play strongly at 142 for 1. Aditya Srivastava was the only wicket to fall. Since then, Rajat Patidar and Shubham Sharma have added an unbeaten 105-run stand. MP lead by 80 runs, and will have to bat aggressively to inject a contest on the final day.

Brief scores

Madhya Pradesh 264 and 141 for 1 (Rajat Patidar 81*, Shubham Sharma 41*; Krishnamoorthy Vignesh 1 for 21) lead Tamil Nadu 326 (Narayan Jagadeeshan 101, Yo Mahesh 103*, M Mohammed 43; Ishwar Pandey 3 for 67, Puneet Datey 3 for 55) by 80 runs.

At Ongole: Mumbai were 20 for 2 at one stage. Jay Bista and Shreyas Iyer were back in the pavilion. Suryakumar Yadav gave his all to survive Andhra s spectacular bowling before Bandaru Ayyappa had him caught behind. At the crease, fighting against all odds (to nobody s surprise) was 18-year-old Prithvi Shaw. Shaw scored his fifth First-Class century. Captain Aditya Tare pushed himself down the order, letting the in-form Siddhesh Lad take centre stage. Prithvi and Lad added 125 for the fourth wicket.

After ending Day One at 248 for 6, Abhishek Nayar (35) and Dhawal Kulkarni (50) provided a late blitz, taking Mumbai to a challenging score.

In reply the Andhra batters failed terribly against the pace-bowling of Shardul Thakur who took 5 for 55. Captain Hanuma Bihari and Ricky Bhui scored fifties, but the others could not find their feet. Mumbai took a lead of 117 runs.

Shreyas, who had gone for a duck in the first innings, made amends in the second innings and remained unbeaten on 75. Mumbai now lead by 307 runs.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 332 (Prithvi Shaw 114; Bandaru Ayyappa 4 for 110) and 190 for 4 (Shreyas Iyer 75*; KV Sasikanth 1 for 33) lead Andhra 215 (Hanuma Vihari 70; Shardul Thakur 5 for 55) by 307 runs.

At Vadodara: This has been the only high-scoring contest in this group. Openers Kedar Devdhar and Aditya Waghmode stitched up 152 runs for the opening stand. Although Waghmode departed after scoring a fine half-century, Devdhar accumulated his 7th First-Class hundred.

There were two more centurions: Vishnu Solanki and Ninad Rathva. Amidst the rampage, Basant Mohanty ended with a five-wicket haul.

In reply, Odisha lost two wickets for 64 but Subhranshu Senapati’s spectacular 131 kept them on course. Shantanu Mishra (46) and Biplab Samantray (55) played second fiddle. The final day will be all about the battle for the crucial 3 points.

Brief scores:

Baroda 503 (Kedar Devdhar 104, Vishnu Solanki 109, Ninad Rathva 115; Biplab Basant Mohanty 5 for 85) lead Odisha 316 for 5 (but Subhranshu Senapati 131*; Vishnu Solanki 2 for 34) by 187 runs.