Bengal trail by 71 runs    PTI
Bengal trail by 71 runs PTI

At Raipur: Services trail by 91 runs with 10 wickets remaining on Day One of Round 6, Ranji Trophy 2017-18. Electing to field first, Service bundled out Chhattisgarh for a paltry 130. Diwesh Pathania was pick of the bowlers, taking 4 for 45.

After Rishabh Tiwari (21) and Ashutosh Singh (28) laid a platform, Chhattisgarh lost 4 wickets for 12 runs. Although Manoj Singh tried to provide impetus with his fifty, his lone effort could not bail them out. Vikas Yadav (3 for 10) removed the lower order and thus Chhattisgarh s innings was wrapped up.

In reply openers Navneet Singh and Ravi Chauhan remained unbeaten, taking Services to 39 for 0.

Brief scores:

Chhattisgarh 130 (Manoj Singh 53; Diwesh Pathania 4 for 45, Vikas Yadav 4 for 10) lead Services (Ravi Chauhan 21*) by 91 runs.

At Porvorim: It was another low-scoring contest in this group. Goa were skittled out for 239, courtesy Akshay Wakhare s 4 for 50.

Goa could have been in a worse situation had Keenan Vaz not scored 72 from No. 7. During his late blitz, he added 47 runs with Vedant Naik and another 77 with Amulya Pandrekar.

Table-toppers Vidarbha have been in an ominous form of late. They have 3 wins and a draw from 4 games so far. Given the way they bowled on the opening day, they are likely to continue the momentum.

Brief scores:

Goa 239 (Keenan Vaz 72; Akshay Wakhare 4 for 50, Aditya Sarwate 3 for 54) vs Vidarbha

At Amritsar: Perhaps the pitches have been better this season. The bowlers would nod happily. Riding on Pradipta Pramanik and Boddupalli Amit s three-wicket hauls, Bengal cleared up Punjab for 147. Shubham Gill s 63 was the only ray of hope for them: the second-highest score was Abhishek Gupta s 15.

Openers Abhishek Raman and Abhimanyu Easwaran provided a solid start, ending the day s play at 76 for 0.

If not a win, Bengal will at least look to get first-innings lead. This will put both teams on 16 points. However, Punjab have a better net run-rate.

Brief scores:

Punjab 147 (Shubham Gill 63; Pradipta Pramanik 3 for 41, Boddupalli Amit 3 for 31) lead Bengal 76 for 0 (Abhishek Raman 42*, Abhimanyu Easwaran 33*) by 71 runs.