Elite A Round 4

A solid opening partnership has put Karnataka on course for their first victory of the ongoing 2018-19 Ranji Trophy season. Maharashtra recovered to be bowled out for 256 in their second innings, setting the hosts 184 to win the Elite A, Round 4 match at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar Ground in Mysore.

When bails were drawn, the opening pair of Devdutt Padikkal (33*) and Dega Nischal (21*) had taken their team to 54/0 in pursuit of the target.

Earlier, Maharshtra’s second innings seemed destined to how it transpired when they batted in their first dig. They slumped to 113/6 and with just a slim lead of 40 runs when Ruturaj Gaikwad (89) and Naushad Shaikh (73) got together to repair the damage. Shreyas Gopa added two more scalps to his overnight tally of two wickets and eventually with 4/64.

They put on a century stand to take them past the 200-run mark. The stand, which was worth 103 runs, was broken by Karnataka captain Vinay Kumar when cleaned up Gaikwad with the scorecard reading 219/7.

Vinay then also dismissed Naushad and Samad Fallah to end the innings and finish with figures of 3/41. Maharashtra were bowled out for 256 in 97 overs.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 184 and 54/0 (Devdutt Padikkal 33*, Dega Nischal 21*) need 130 runs to win against Maharashtra 113 and 256