Elite A Round 7

Karnataka batsmen struggled against Railways but fifties from Krishnamurthy Siddharth and Dega Nischal ensured the innings didn’t go off track completely. At the close of play on Day 1 of their Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Elite A, round 7 clash at the KSCA Navule Stadium in Shimoga, the hosts had reached 208/9 in 89 overs.

Railways opted to field and by 10 overs had reduced Karnataka to 17/3. ACP Mishra drew the first blood when he had opener Ravikumar Samarth caught for 3 in the sevent over. Karan Thakur then landed two body blows as he dismissed Devdutt Padikkal (1) and captain Manish Pandey (4) in his successive overs.

Nischal and Siddharth played sensibly to settle nerves. They struck fifties while adding 112 runs for the fourth wicket. Nischal scored 52 off 172 with four fours while Siddarth top-scored, hitting 66 off 185 with six fours and two sixes.

Avinash Yadav got rid of both the set batsmen as Karnataka lost half their side for 159.

From thereon, they kept on losing wickets regualry and at one stage were in real danger of being bowled out for under 200. Srinivas Sharath (28*) batted with last man Prasidh Krishna (2*) to take the total to 208 and the two have so far added 30 runs for the 10th wicket.

Avinash Yadav and ACP Mishra took thre wickets each while Karan Thakur took 2/41

Brief Scores: Karnataka 208/9 (Krishnamurthy Siddharth 69, Dega Nischal 52; Avinash Yadav 3/43, ACP Mishra 3/57) vs Railways on Day 1