Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Group A, round 5: Jadeja, Makvana spin Saurashtra to win against Karnataka

The spin duo of Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Kamlesh Makvana shared nine wickets to lead Saurashtra to an 87-run win over Karnataka on Saturday. In their Group A fixture of the 2018-19 Ranji Trophy, Karnataka, needing 179 runs to win, were bowled out for 91 with Makvana securing a five-wicket-haul. Jadeja, who picked up seven wickets in the first innings, also chipped in with 4 for 44, taking his match tally to 11 wickets.

ALSO READ: Saurashtra vs Karnataka Day 2

On a dust bowl at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot, two innings were completed in approximately 60 overs. The third day began with Saurashtra beginning their second innings, but in 27.4 overs they were bowled out for 79 with spinners Jagadeesha Suchith, Shreyas Gopal and Pavan Deshpande picking up three wickets each. For Saurashtra, Snell Patel, Avi Barot and Aarpit Vasavada were the only three batsmen to register double-digit scores.

In reply, Karnataka, were bamboozled by the spin pair of Jadeja and Makvana. The left-arm, right-arm pair dismantled the Karnataka middle order with only Karun Nair and Gopal showing resistance. As many as five batsmen registered ducks with the only wicket not going to a bowler was that of BR Sharath, who was run out.

Brief Score: Saurashtra 79 all out (Snell Patel 22; Pavan Deshpande 3 for 5) and 316 beat Karnataka 91 all out (Karun Nair 30; Kamlesh Makvana 5 for 28, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4 for 44) by 87 runs.