Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Group B, Day 1: Avesh career-best puts Madhya Pradesh on top against Hyderabad

Madhya Pradesh Fast bowler Avesh Khan registered career-best figures of 7 for 21 as his hostile spell of pace dismantled Hyderabad for 124. The 21-year-old fast bowler, who picked up 4 for 8 in the second innings of the previous match against Kerala went through the top and middle order after which MP s openers Ajay Rohera and Rajat Patidar struck unbeaten half-centuries to hand the side a handy lead of 44 runs on Day 1 of the fifth round of the 2018-19 Ranji Trophy in Indore.

On his home turf, Avesh removed Hyderabad openers Tanmay Agarwal and Tanay Thyagarajan inside eight overs. From 29/3, Hyderabad lost half their side on the same score as Avesh dealt ducks to Bavanaka Sandeep and wicketkeeper Kolla Sumanth. The fourth duck of the innings was registered by Ravi Teja to give Avesh his maiden five-wicket-haul in First-Class.

For Hyderabad, it was Himalay Agarwal and captain Akshath Reddy who bailed them out from the danger folding inside 50. Reddy helped himself to four boundaries for 21 of Hyderabad s first 29 runs. Later, it was courtesy Agarwal s counter-attacking knock of 69 that offered Hyderabad something to cheer for. With eight fours and two sixes, Agarwal was able to help Hyderabad get over the 100-run mark, with a crucial 15-run assistance from Mehdi Hasan. Agarwal remained unbeaten as Hyderabad s innings folded for 124.

In reply, Aryaman Birla and Rohera added 68 runs for the opening wicket for MP. Birla was connecting the ball well, with six crisp boundaries before the opening stand was broken by Thyagarajan. Rohera was joined by Rajat Patidar and the two stitched an unbeaten 100-run partnership for MP to end the day on 168. Rohera struck six fours and a six while Patidar scored seven boundaries. Both batsmen took full toll of Mohammad Mudhasir and Ravi Teja, both bowler conceding over four runs an over.

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh 168 for 1 (Ajay Rohera 81*, Rajat Patidar, 51*) lead Hyderabad 124 all out (Himalay Agarwal 69, Akshath Reddy; Avesh Khan 7 for 21) by 44 runs.