After finishing their first innings at 292, Haryana reduced Tripura to 252/7 on day two of round five of Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season at the Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium, Agartala on Friday.

Starting the day at 258/7 losing centurion Rahul Dagar for 114 off the last ball of day one, Haryana skipper Harshal Patel scored 34 off 57 to take his team to 292 all out. For Tripura, Ajoy Sarkar finished with 5/57 while experienced Manisankar Murasingh returned 4/74.

In reply, Tripura Udiyan Bose early for four to Poonish Mehta. Other opener Samrat Singha made 29 while Ninad Kadam made 15. Kadam was the second wicket to fall claimed by Chaitanya Bishnoi while skipper Smit Patel fell to Tinu Kundu for 16. Pratyush Singh then added 76 runs. Nirupam Sen Chowdhary made 33 before falling to Patel. Singha, back on the field after retiring hurt was finally taken by Bishnoi. Subham Ghosh fell to Kundu for 11 while Pratyush was the last batsman out on day two, taken by Mehta.

But Murasingh scored an unbeaten 43 off 71 to keep Tripura’s hopes of taking the lead alive.

Brief Scores: Tripura 235/7 (Pratyush Singh 76; Poonish Mehta 2/35) trail Haryana 292 (Rahul Dagar 114, Chaitanya Bishnoi 82; Ajoy Sarkar 5/57) by 57 runs