Live Updates

  • 7:26 PM IST

    Stoinis and Miller have made the chase look easy here. They have eased to the 6-wicket win. This is Delhi’s sixth consecutive loss in the opening match of Indian T20 league.

  • 7:12 PM IST

  • 7:11 PM IST

  • 7:09 PM IST

    Punjab vs Delhi Latest Updates: The game is in Punjab’s pocket but what if the game turns around just like Mumbai vs Chennai? 26 needed from 24. Can Punjab do this or will Gambhir play a masterstroke here?

  • 6:58 PM IST
  • 6:57 PM IST

  • 6:46 PM IST

    Punjab vs Delhi Latest Updates: So Yuvraj Singh is also gone. It all zeroes down to Karun Nair now. But Punjab can take it slow after that blistering start from Rahul. It is a close equation here 58 off 54.

  • 6:18 PM IST

    A fine innings comes to an end. Rahul gone for 51 and that came off just 16 deliveries. Trent Boult who was hammered the most, gets the wicket. Punjab was looking forward to have him till the end.

  • 6:10 PM IST

    Latest Punjab vs Delhi Updates: And KL Rahul scores fastest Indian T20 league fifty. Goes past Sunil Narine, Yusuf Pathan. What a moment. He is on a different league today. Mayank Agarwal scored just a run and is already heading to the dressing room.

  • 5:59 PM IST

    Latest Punjab vs Delhi Updates: KL Rahul is off with mark with a biggie. 12 runs already from the over with a 6, 4 and 4. Maybe not Trent Boult’s day in the office.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Gautam Gambhir © AFP
Ravichandran Ashwin and Gautam Gambhir © AFP

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Indian T20 League 2018. Match 2 of the tournament sees Ravichandran Ashwin‘s Punjab take on Gautam Gambhir‘s Delhi at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace. Punjab had retained only player from their side before the auctions  – Akshar Patel. Ashwin has a task on his hand to captain a side that comprises of exciting young performers and international stars. However, having an heavyweight team, Ashwin and the coaching staff will be in a serious dilemma to choose a XI from the powerpacked unit. 

Punjab will be without the services of Aaron Finch, who is getting married on Sunday, for the opening match. Punjab still have plenty of reliable batters in their side – Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, David Miller, Yuvraj Singh, Marcus Stoinis and likes. Delhi had retained Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer ahead of the auctions. At the time of the auctions, Delhi picked the players wisely, including the return of their captain Gambhir.

But they will be entering the first game of the tournament without Glenn Maxwell, who is away for Finch’s wedding. Yet, Delhi have Colin Munro, Jason Roy and likes to boost the batting line-up. As for the bowlers, Delhi have already dealt with their first blow with Kagiso Rabada ruled out of the tournament and Liam Plunkett coming in as replacement.

Delhi also have a blend of young and experienced spinners with Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane in the side. Amit Mishra, Jayant Yadav, Trent Boult and others complete the bowling unit. Punjab are ahead of Delhi when it comes to head to head record (11:9). This could be and opportunity for both the sides to improvise their game with a well-balanced unit.


Delhi team: Gautam Gambhir (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Naman Ojha (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Dan Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sayan Ghosh.

Punjab team: Ravichandran Ashwin (c), KL Rahul (wk), Akshdeep Nath (wk), Akshar Patel, Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Chris Gayle, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Zadran, Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar.

Editorial team of CricketCountry.