Rishabh Pant had also secured triple century in the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 season    AFP
Rishabh Pant had also secured triple century in the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 season AFP

From Under-19 star to First-Class cricket, Rishabh Pant has yet again set a new record of fastest century off just 48 deliveries in Ranji Trophy 2016-17 while playing against Jharkhand. This is not only the fastest century in Ranji Trophy history but he also becomes the only Indian in the history of First-Class cricket to achieve this feat. It was previously Rajesh Borah who held this record when he scored the fastest century off just 56 deliveries against Tripura in 1987-88 Ranji Trophy, but Pant proved to be a master in this achievement. His century included 10 sixes and 6 fours, which was secured in the second innings during Delhi s clash against Jharkhand. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Note: The list comprises of centuries achieved within 60 deliveries or less. Obviously, it also includes the fastest Test hundreds. The top three batsmen to hold the record till date are Glen Chapple, Mark Pettini and Murray Goodwin. Three Indians have achieved this feat in Ranji Trophy. Rajesh Borah held the record before Pant, while Reuben Paul was the first Indian to get to a First-Class hundred inside 60 balls.

Balls Batsman Team Against Venue Season
27 Glen Chapple Lancashire Glamorgan Old Trafford 1993
27 Mark Pettini Essex Leicestershire Grace Road 2006
32 Murray Goodwin Sussex Middlesex Southgate 2006
34 David Hookes South Australia Victoria Adelaide Oval 1982-83
36 Tom Moody Warwickshire Glamorgan Swansea 1990
45 Robin Hobbs Essex Australians Chelmsford 1975
45 Lance Cairns Otago Wellington Lower Hutt 1979-80
45 Ian Botham England XI Central Zone Indore 1981-82
45 Angus Mackay Mashonaland Matabeleland Bulawayo 2001-02
45 Mark Ealham Nottinghamshire MCC Lord’s 2006
46 Gilbert Jessop Gloucestershire Yorkshire Harrogate 1897
48 Graham Napier Essex Cambridge MCCU Fenner’s 2012
48 Rishabh Pant Delhi Jharkhand Thiruvananthapuram 2016-17 Ranji
51 Luke Ronchi Western Australia Queensland WACA 2007-08
51 Nic Maddinson Australia A Ireland Belfast 2013
53 Lendl Simmons Trinidad and Tobago Barbados Kensington Oval 2012-13
54 Pete Trego Somerset Yorkshire Taunton 2009
54 Ariful Haque Rangpur Division Dhaka Metropolis Savar 2014-15
54 Brendon McCullum New Zealand Australia Hagley Oval 2015-16 Test
55 Justin Kemp Northerns Easterns Centurion 2004-05
55 Chinthaka Jayasinghe Bloomfield Colts CC Colombo 2011-12
55 Adam Rossington Middlesex Cambridge MCCU Fenner’s 2013
55 Jason Roy Surrey Gloucestershire Bristol 2014
55 Geeth Kumara Saracens SC Sri Lanka Air Force Sports Club Katunayake 2014-15
56 Viv Richards West Indies England St John’s 1985-86 Test
56 Rajesh Borah Assam Tripura Guwahati 1987-88 Ranji
56 VB Chandrasekhar Tamil Nadu Rest of India Chepauk 1988-89
56 Nick Knight Warwickshire Hampshire Southampton 1997
56 Justin Kemp Kent Durham Stockton-on-Tees 2006
56 Misbah-ul-Haq Pakistan Australia Abu Dhabi 2014-15 Test
57 Adam Gilchrist Australia England WACA 2006-07
57 Ryan ten Doeschate Essex Derbyshire Derby 2009
57 Steven Davies Surrey Leicestershire The Oval 2015
57 Nimesh Perera Chilaw Marians CC Bloomfield Katunayake 2015-16
58 Gregory Strydom Matabeleland Manicaland Mutare 2003-04
59 Gerald Dros Northerns Griqualand West Pretoria 2005-06
59 Stephen Peters Northamptonshire Essex Northampton 2008
60 Reuben Paul Tamil Nadu Goa Madras 1995-96 Ranji

He also achieved a century in the first innings and was dismissed for 117 off 106 deliveries. He has previously before this scored his career best 308 against Maharashtra in Mumbai in the same tournament. He became second wicketkeeper-batsman to score triple-ton in Ranji Trophy and seventh overall in First-Class cricket. Pant was only second batsman after Raman Lamba to do this as Delhi batsman. At the age of 19, Pant became third youngest batsman to score a triple-century after Wasim Jaffer and Abhinav Mukund.

He is currently unbeaten and is playing at 135 off mere 66 deliveries. For his triple century, Pant received accolades from former Indian cricketer and now the wittiest cricketer around Virender Sehwag.

As Sehwag had said, Rishabh Pant ne Pant utar di. 308, brilliant innings against Maharashtra #RanjiTrophy. No idea what is following next from Sehwag after this historical record set by Pant.