Both RPS and KXIP will just play for pride © AFP
Both RPS and KXIP will just play for pride © AFP

Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) take on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in Match 53 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam on Saturday. This match is of no consequence as both RPS and KXIP are at the bottom of the points table of the ninth edition of the IPL and have been already eliminated. RPS are coming off a win against Delhi Daredevils (DD) in the same venue. MS Dhoni-led RPS won the rain-hit match by the Duckworth-Lewis (D/L) rule by 19 runs. RPS’ target was 58 off 11 overs and Ajinkya Rahane remained unbeaten on 42 as his side chased down the total with nine wickets remaining.

On the other hand, KXIP faced a defeat in their previous match when they faced Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was plain embarrassment for Murali Vijay and Co. when fireworks from Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle powered RCB to a 200+ total in just 15 overs. That match was reduced to 15 overs due to rain and Kohli’s fourth century in this edition of IPL once again became the topic of discussion. That knock was once again followed by numerous cricketers taking to social media praising the Indian Test skipper.


Rising Pune Supergiants: Ajinkya Rahane, Usman Khawaja, Saurabh Tiwary, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Thisara Perera, George Bailey, Rajat Bhatia, Ravichandran Ashwin, Adam Zampa, Ashok Dinda, RP Singh, Steven Smith, Albie Morkel, Murugan Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Peter Handscomb, Jaskaran Singh, Ankit Sharma, Scott Boland, Ishwar Pandey, Deepak Chahar, Baba Aparajith, Ankush Bains

Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, David Miller (c), Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Johnson, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Kyle Abbott, KC Cariappa, Marcus Stoinis, Farhaan Behardien, Pradeep Sahu, Armaan Jaffer, Swapnil Singh.