Robin Uthappa © IANS (File Photo)
Robin Uthappa © IANS (File Photo)


May 28, 2014


Rishi Dhawan came on to bowl the sixth over of the innings for Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 Qualifier 1. He was greeted with a very good looking six down the ground by Robin Uthappa. After taking a single and giving Manish Pandey the strike, he hit a boundary down the ground to bring up the 50 partnership off just 27 balls.


Parvinder Awana came on to bowl the fifth over of the innings. Uthappa hit a boundary off the second ball, and then followed it up with another boundary off the fifth delivery. Uthappa was looking in very good form, as he was toying with the bowling and scoring at will.


Robin Uthappa decided to take the attack to Mitchell Johnson, who was bowling his second over of the match. After Manish Pandey drove uppishly off the first ball and got a streaky boundary, he took a single to give Uthappa the strike. Uthappa hooked a short ball from Johnson for six, and then followed it up with a boundary.


Earlier, Akshar Patel bowled the third over. Patel started well, with a leg bye to start with. Both Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey were looking to consolidate after the early loss of Gautam Gambhir, with KKR getting the first boundary of the match only off the final ball of the third over.


Mitchell Johnson came on to bowl the second over of the match. After bowling a very good late-swinging delivery to Gambhir first ball, Johnson pitched one short and had Gambhir pull straight to George Bailey at short midwicket. Manish Pandey was the new man in for KKR, and started off with a single right away. Johnson was cranking up the pace, and looked like taking a wicket at any moment.


Parvinder Awana started proceedings by bowling the first ball of the Qualifier to Robin Uthappa. Awana bowled a very tight first over. He conceded merely two runs off the first over, as Robin Uthappa was unable to work the ball away. Awana held his nerve and didn’t bowl any loose balls to start with.


Earlier, George Bailey won the toss and elected to field first. Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) went in with the same team. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) made just the one change, as leg-spinner Piyush Chawla came in to the side at the expense of R Vinay Kumar. Glenn Maxwell, sporting a clean-shaven look, said that KXIP were only looking at going match-by-match at this point.



Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage