Rohit Sharma appointed captain of Mumbai for Ranji Trophy 2013-14

Rohit Sharma won’t be available to play for Mumbai in their opening Ranji Trophy encounter against Haryana © IANS (File Photo)

Oct 16, 2013

Rohit Sharma has been selected as the captain of Mumbai Team for the Ranji Trophy season 2013-2014.

The move came after Ajit Agarkar announced his retirement from all forms of cricket. Meanwhile, Zaheer Khan will lead the side in the absence of Rohit when Mumbai takes on Haryana from October 27-30, 2013 at Lahli.

Rohit won’t be able to play for Mumbai as he will be busy with national duties. All-rounder Abhishek Nayar has been chosen as his deputy.

However, Sachin Tendulkar, who announced his retirement last week, will be the star attraction of the match as he prepares ahead of his final Test series against Australia.

Squad for match against Haryana:

Zaheer Khan (c), Abhishek Nayar, Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane, Kaustubh Pawar, Hiken Shah, Aditya Tare (wk), Dhaval Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdullah, Vishal Dabholkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Siddhesh Lad, Javed Khan, Balwinder Singh Sandhu Jr.

Sachin Tendulkar Retirement