India's Rohit Sharma. @ PTI
India’s Rohit Sharma. @ PTI

Rohit Sharma, who led India to a clinical 3-0 series sweep against the West Indies in the Twenty20 Internationals, has been rested from the India A squad for the four-day match against New Zealand, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced in a press release on Tuesday.

Mr Rohit Sharma, who was originally named in India A s squad for the first four-day match against New Zealand A, has been advised rest by the BCCI Medical Team in consultation with the team management and the All-India Senior Selection Committee. The decision was taken keeping in mind his recent workload, the BCCI said in the release.

Rohit, who donned the captaincy hat in absence of Virat Kohli, created history to become the only captain to have led his side to two 3-0 T20I whitewashes. He had captained India to a 3-0 series sweep against Sri Lanka in December 2017.

India A will play three unofficial Tests and as many ODIs which begins with the first Test on November 16 at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.

He [Rohit] will now travel with India s T20 squad that will leave for Australia on November 16, 2018, from Mumbai, the BCCI added.

India face Australia in three T20Is, four Tests and three ODIs, beginning with the first T20I at the Gabba in Brisbane on November 21.

India A squad for first four-day game against New Zealand A: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Murali Vijay, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rajneesh Gurbani, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper)