RCB and DD are level headed and one of them will want to take the lead at Bengaluru on Sunday © AFP
RCB and DD are level headed and one of them will want to take the lead at Bengaluru on Sunday © AFP

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) take on Delhi Daredevils (DD) in Match 11 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Both RCB and DD have two points on the board, but DD have already played a couple of matches, whereas RCB have played just the solitary match. RCB put on an excellent all-round show in their opening match against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), putting up 227, courtesy of some healthy contributions from Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan. They romped home by 45 runs, with Shane Watson and Parvez Rasool bowling exceptionally well. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2016, Match 11 at Bengaluru.

DD on the other hand bounced back from an embarrassing defeat at the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in their first match to beat Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by eight wickets to get off the mark. Amit Mishra’s figures of 4 for 11 in 3 overs against KXIP were instrumental in restricting them for just 111. Quinton de Kock finished with an unbeaten 59 to ensure that DD faced no trouble chasing the modest total.

Both teams however have to address their opening conundrum. Chris Gayle has not fired since his unbeaten ton in West Indies’ opening tie against England in the T20 World Cup 2016. For DD, Shreyas Iyer has been dismissed in single digits in his two innings so far. Both need to start firing soon for the benefit of their teams.

DD will be boosted by the fact that their skipper Zaheer Khan came roaring back to form in the game against KXIP after a poor outing against KKR. Chris Morris, Mishra and Jayant Yadav too had excellent games with the ball, barring Zaheer.

RCB’s batting looks more or less settled, with Kohli and Gayle opening the innings, followed by de Villiers and Watson. Sarfaraz showed that he is no mug with the bat and if needed, players like Kedar Jhadav and Rasool can step up as well. RCB may consider making a change or two. Perhaps getting in Kane Richardson in place of Adam Milne might be an option.

With match set to be played at Chinnaswamy once again, we can expect a high-scoring game. Both DD and RCB sets of explosive players in their ranks and could wreck havoc. Once again a score close to 200 may be par, but any score over 200 should be a match-winning one. RCB with power-hitters in their top 4 or 5 should be able to get to 200 easily. DD will have their tasks cut out while restricting RCB batsmen. We will surely have high scoring game on our hands!


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Shane Watson, Mitchell Starc, Adam Milne, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Stuart Binny, Kane Richardson, Samuel Badree, Travis Head, Praveen Dubey, Vikramjeet Malik, Akshay Karnewar, Iqbal Abdullah, Sachin Baby, Vikas Tokas.

Delhi Daredevils (DD): Zaheer Khan (c), Amit Mishra, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Shami, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Imran Tahir, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Sam Billings, Chama Milind, Pratyush Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Saeed Khaleel Ahmed, Akhil Herwadkar, Pawan Suyal, Joel Paris (ruled out).

TIME: 20.00 IST | 14.30 GMT

(Pramod Ananth is a reporter at CricketCountry. He has represented Karnataka table tennis under-15, and is a hardcore supporter of Liverpool FC. His Twitter handle is @pramz)