Both RCB and Mumbai are desperate for win © IANS
Both RCB and Mumbai are desperate for win © IANS

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will host Mumbai Indians (MI) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore for the 16th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015. While RCB have at least won a game in the two they have played, MI are yet to win a game, having lost four in four. IPL 2015: Full Schedule

RCB were impressive in their first game playing Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Kolkata, they defeated them to start the campaign with a win. Chris Gayle was the Man of the Match in that game as he looked very serious about winning games for his team. Their bowling isn’t quite that good and that showed in the second game they played, against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Bangalore. The batting line-up struggled as well, baring AB de Villiers, none of them got going and applied themselves in their home ground. IPL 2015: CSK, KKR, RCB, KXIP, MI, RR, SRH, DD full team details in IPL 8

RCB for long have always struggled to click as a team and which is why they are yet to win an IPL trophy. Virat Kohli has had a lot of traction about him but all of that has been off the field. He will be itching to make a mark with a big score. Another worry for them in batting department is Dinesh Karthik. He was promoted up the order in the last game but he flopped. He has been bought for a lot of money but Karthik is yet to make a mark to stamp his authority. READ: IPL 2015 is up and running; no sign of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 hangover

Their bowling has looked weak and they might as well be looking to play an extra spinner in Jalaj Saxena as Harshal Patel has had success but Saxena would offer a much better balance. Also Mandeep Singh had good success with KXIP at the top of the order; Kohli can consider swapping places with him as Kohli has had most of his success at No 3 for RCB. IPL 2015 Points Table & Team Standings

Mumbai Indians are yet to win a game in this IPL 2015 and will know, it is make or break time for them. They were outplayed by KKR in the first game. KXIP defeated them handsomely despite Harbhajan Singh turning up late for the match with the fastest fifty of the IPL 2015. Rajasthan Royals (RR) outclassed them as they put a huge score with Kieron Pollard coming back to form but their bowling lacked the bite. Pollard hit back to back fifites as they got a good score against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) too, but their bowling fell apart as CSK blazed away to victory.

MI have the talent, squad the support staff which any team in the world would be envious of. With likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Anil Kumble, Jonty Rhodes, they have enough backroom staff but for some reason they have not quite played to their potential. It could possibly be too many words of advice hampering their progress. They have had one department clicking on a day while the other hasn’t turned up at all. Their bowling needs a serious revamp after the hammering they got from Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum.

Lasith Malinga has not quite been at his best, and with Josh Hazlewood pulling out of IPL, their bowling ranks are all but dependent on Harbhajan Singh. Corey Anderson and Kieron Pollard can bowl but they do not inspire confidence. Aaron Finch is injured and now ruled out of the IPL 2015. They will be looking for able replacements for both Finch and Hazlewood and hope they perform.

In IPL 2014, Mumbai had started with five losses on the trot but still made it to the Playoffs. Though it does not mean that the same thing could happen again, they can take heart from it but will have to step up. This time they are facing a strong RCB batting line-up who will be itching to fire all guns blazing.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli (c), Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Darren Sammy, Mitchell Starc, Dinesh Karthik, Subramanium Badrinath, Sean Abbott, Adam Milne, Nic Maddinson, Ashok Dinda, Manvinder Bisla, Varun Aaron, Vijay Zol, Sarfaraz Khan, Jalaj Saxena, Shishir Bhavane, Iqbal Abdullah, David Wiese, Rilee Rossouw, Abu Nechim, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sandeep Warrier, Yogesh Takawale, Jalaj Saxena.     

Mumbai Indian (MI): Rohit Sharma (c), Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Lendl Simmons, Vinay Kumar,Corey Anderson, Aiden Blizzard, Jasprit Bumrah, Aditya Tare, Pawan Suyal, Mitchell McClenaghan, Marchant de Lange, Unmukt Chand, Aaron Finch, Parthiv Patel, Siddhesh Lad, Abhimanyu Mithun, Shreyas Gopal, Pragyan Ojha, Hardik Pandya, J Suchith, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana.

TIME: 20:00 local | 14.30 GMT

(Nikhil Popat is a cricket lover and a PotterHead. He can be followed on Twitter @CricCrazyNIKS)