Sachin Tendulkar misjudged extra bounce, says Ajit Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar scored 74 in his 200th and last Test match against West Indies © IANS

Pune: Nov 17, 2013

He knew it was going to be his last innings, but such has been Sachin Tendulkar‘s undying passion for the game that he nonetheless dissected and analysed the shot that got him out.

“The ball bounced a little higher than I had expected and (I) could not judge the extra bounce”, Sachin was quoted as saying by his brother-cum-mentor Ajit Tendulkar on a Marathi news channel.

Confirming that he had a customary chat with Tendulkar after his dismissal in the just-concluded second and final Test against the West Indies, Ajit said, “I told him that he played splendidly and smoothly true to his style till that edge to the slip (caught by West Indian captain Darren Sammy) which he could have avoided.”

During the telephonic talk with his brother after the second day’s play, Sachin attributed his fall to a misjudged bounce that deprived millions of his fans of a fairy tale ending with an 101th ton of his illustrious career.