Shahid Afridi (Left), Sachin Tendulkar (centre) and Virender Sehwag    Getty Images
Shahid Afridi (Left), Sachin Tendulkar (centre) and Virender Sehwag Getty Images

People from around the world bid goodbye to an eventful 2016 and welcome 2017. Cricketers are not far behind either as Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Shahid Afrid and other cricketers have wished their fans a Happy New Year. 2016 saw India rise to the top of the ICC test rankings, Pakistan go to the summit of the rankings for the first time ever. 2016 also saw West Indies becoming the first team to win the ICC World T20 twice and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lift their maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) title. It was a tournament that saw Virat Kohli hit four centuries, scoring close to 1,000 runs.

Undoubtedly, 2016 was Kohli s year. He has not just scored heavily across formats, but has also led Team India quite admirably. Kohli finished the year as the No. 2 ranked Test batsman, but is on top of the tree in the limited-overs format. The first cricketing action in 2017 will be the third Test between Pakistan and Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) starting from January 2. Australia have already taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. On the same day, South Africa will take on Sri Lanka in the second Test at Cape Town. South Africa registered a comprehensive win in the first Test at Port Elizabeth and will look to seal the series with a win in the second game. After losing the One-Day International (ODI) series, Bangladesh will look to redeem some pride by winning the T20 International (T20I) series against New Zealand, which begins from January 3.

India s first Match of the year will be on January 15, as they take on England in the first of the three ODIs at Pune. After the Test series which resulted 4-0 in favour of the hosts, India and England will play three ODIs and three T20Is in the tour.