Shane Warne made his Test dream team public via Facebook © Getty Images
Shane Warne made his Test dream team public via Facebook © Getty Images

Shane Warne has picked his greatest Australian Test XI (since 1990). This is just a day after his announcement of greatest Australian ODI XI (since 1990). The basic qualification for his Test XI is that it features players from the last 25 years only i.e. since 1990. Allan Border is the captain. Adam Gilchrist is the wicketkeeper-batsman and Warne picks himself as the lone spinner. Matthew Hayden and Michael Slater are to open the batting. Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris and Glenn McGrath are the fast bowlers. Ricky Ponting, Mark Waugh, Michael Clarke and Allan Border will play in the middle order. READ: Shane Warne picks greatest Australia ODI XI; notable exclusions include Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden

Shane Warne said on Facebook, “Mark Taylor was the best Captain I played under & I would have liked to have got him in at the top as he was all class, but Hayden/Slater combo won out. David Boon pushed Ponting at number 3 & the middle order of Mark Waugh, Michael Clarke & AB, were challenged by Martyn, Hussey & S Waugh. The keeping position was a really tough one as Ian Healy was comfortably the best keeper in my time from any country & as we have so much batting did I need Gilly’s batting was the question, at the end of the day, I only just went with Gilly as his batting was insane. The bowlers were really, really tough, Bruce Reid, Brett Lee, Craig McDermott, Merv Hughes & Jason Gillespie could have all played, but in the end I went with the above. I hope this creates more debate. The bottom line is, over the last 25 years Australia has produced some amazing players, I feel privileged to have played with these great players & in a wonderful era of Australian cricket.
Let the debate begin….
Ps Thankyou for liking my Facebook page too”

Warne’s greatest Australian Test XI (last 25 years)

Matthew Hayden, Michael Slater, Ricky Ponting, Mark Waugh, Michael Clarke, Allan Border (c), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Shane Warne, Ryan Harris, Glenn McGrath