Shane Warne    AFP
Shane Warne AFP

Shane Warne’s association with the IPL goes back to 2008, the tournament’s inception. Warne led underdogs Rajasthan Royals (RR) to the title triumph in the first edition. Warne was the mentor of RR in IPL 2018 and finished fourth in the tournament. The legendary leg-spinner tweeted ahead of the final between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), and predicted that the former will be the league champions for the third time.

Warne’s team has four wicketkeepers in Jos Buttler, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant and MS Dhoni, but has not mentioned who will keep wickets in the side.

Let us see what has Warne’s players done in this season. Buttler (548 runs), Rahul (659), Virat Kohli (530), Pant (684), Dhoni (455), Hardik Pandya (260 runs, 18 wickets), Andre Russell (316 and 13), Rashid Khan (21), Andrew Tye (24), Kuldeep Yadav (17) and Jasprit Bumrah (17). Notable misses are Ambati Rayudu, Kane Williamson, AB de Villiers, Sunil Narine and Umesh Yadav.