Shane Watson © IANS
Shane Watson © IANS


May 12, 2014

Shane Watson was looking solid for Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings in their IPL 2014 match. Ravi Ashwin came on to bowl the 12th over, and was unable to stem the flow of runs once again. He conceded seven runs off the over, but bowled wide and did not look penetrative.


Ravindra Jadeja came on to bowl the 11th over, and nearly struck off his second ball. Watson tried to cut the ball, and the inside edge nearly went on to hit the stumps. Off the fourth ball, Ajinkya Rahane attempted to take a single, but Watson sent him back after he had already come halfway down the track, and was eventually run out. Karun Nair was the new man in, and was beaten right away. There was an appeal for a stumping, but Karun survived. The last ball of the over was a dot.


Vijay Shankar, playing his first game, came on for the tenth over. After conceding just one of the first two deliveries, Shankar was hit for a boundary by Shane Watson. He was then smashed for six off the fifth ball, again by Watson. The final delivery was hit for another six, as Watson took 19 runs off the over. Rajasthan raced to 84 for one after 10 overs.


Earlier, Rajasthan Royals lost the wicket of Ankit Sharma in the eighth over as he tried to loft one out of the ground and was caught by Dwayne Smith on the boundary. Rajasthan had sent Sharma as a pinch hitter and he did his job with a 27-ball 30. Shane Watson and Ajinkya Rahane are batting in the centre and they are 61 for one in eight overs. Catch Live Blog of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR), IPL 2014 match here


The powerplay had gone for 42 and then Dhoni got back Ishwar Pandey into the attack. Later, Ravichandran Ashwin came on for the eighth over and he was swept through fine leg for four by Watson. There were a few wides in that over. Catch the Live Scorecard of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) , IPL 2014 match here


Earlier, Rajasthan won the toss and chose to bat first. They made a couple of changes to the side as Ankit Sharma, Dishant Yagnik and Kevon Cooper have come in for Sanju Samson, Rahul Tewatia and Kane Richardson. Chennai made one change as Vijay Shankar replaced Mithun Manhas.


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage