Shikhar Dhawan, bowlers guide India to 6-wicket win against Bangladesh in 2nd T20I, Nidahas Trophy

By CricketCountry Staff | Updated:Thu, March 08, 2018 10:33pm

Shikhar Dhawan added 68 runs with Suresh Raina for the third wicket.

India notched their first win of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 after losing their first match. Bangladesh bore the brunt of India s aggression at Colombo. It was once again, Shikhar Dhawan, who played a pivotal role for India. His knock of 55 ensured, India won the match by 6 wickets and secured their first points of the series.

India top-order flopped yet again with Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant failing miserably. Rohit weakness against left-armers was his undone, Mustafizur Rahman getting the better of him. Pant played an extravagant shot only to have his stumps rattled by Taskin Ahmed.

Suresh Raina too lived dangerously after Mehedi Hasan dropped him at fine leg. Dhawan, on the other hand continued his from the first T20I to keep India s required run-rate in check.

Dhawan along with Raina steadied India's ship with a 68-run stand. Raina dealt in singles more than fours and sixes. He finally fell for 28 against Rubel. Dhawan single-handedly anchored India's innings near a win. Dhawan's four of six fifty-plus scores in T20Is have come from his last eight innings. He scored his sixth T20I fifty inclusive of 5 fours and 2 sixes.

[link-to-post url="http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/live-cricket-score-india-vs-bangladesh-nidahas-trophy-2nd-t20i-at-colombo-shikhar-dhawan-dhawan-falls-after-fifty-690996"][/link-to-post]

Having taken India near victory, Dhawan fell on 55 off Taskin Ahmed. Manish Pandey played a cameo of 27 runs. He along with Dinesh Karthik (2*) rode India past Bangladesh's target with 6 wickets to spare.

Earlier, Bangladesh managed 139 for 8, with 30s from Liton Das and Sabbir Rahman. Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal picked 2 wickets each, while Jaydev Unadkat claimed a 3-for.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh 139 for 8 (Liton Das 34, Sabbir Rahman 30 ; Jaydev Unadkat 3 for 38 ) lost to India 140 for 4 (Shikhar Dhawan 55, Manish Pandey 27*; Rubel Hossain 2 for 24) by 6 wickets.

Man of the Match: Vijay Shankar

Published:Thu, March 08, 2018 10:32pm | Updated:Thu, March 08, 2018 10:33pm


India Bangladesh India vs Bangladesh

More From News

Corrupters love the explosion of T20 tournaments: ICC ACU chief Ian Marshall
Asia Cup 2018: Wasim Akram disappointed and disheartened with Pakistan’s abject surrender to India
Sarfraz Ahmed is a courageous player and a great captain: Sourav Ganguly
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19, Elite Group C wrap: Ishan Kishan 139 flattens Assam
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19, Plate Group wrap: Puneet Bisht, Abhay Negi flatten Arunachal

More From Cricketcountry

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad approached for spot-fixing
Asia Cup 2018: Pakistan once again prove to be no match for India
Brendon McCullum takes light-hearted jibe at David Warner's hundred celebration
My all-time favourite cricketer is Sachin Tendulkar: Australia football legend Tim Cahill
Mitchell Johnson — now a fashion designer!

Explore more