Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni among India and Pakistan cricketers to be felicitated by CAB

India and Pakistan players will be felicitated to celebrate 25 years of Indo-Pak ODI cricket © Getty Images

Kolkata: Jan 1, 2013

The Cricket Association of Bengal has planned a felicitation programme for a host of current and former India and Pakistan players during the innings break of the second One-Day International between the two teams on Thursday to celebrate the 25 years of Indo-Pak ODI.

“The players will be taken around the field on a golf cart during the 45-minute innings break and will be given Rs 1 lakh each by the CM Mamata Banerjee,” CAB chief Jagmohan Dalmiya said.

He further said that they were trying to rope in three more players to the list to make it a befitting as the Eden is celebrating 25 years of ODI cricket.

However, the President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who will be in the city on January 3, won’t be present on the occasion, CAB sources said.

Incidentally, both the rival countries had played the first ODI at the Eden Gardens on February 18, 1987 when Salim Malik played a blinder (72 off 35 balls) as Krish Srikkanth’s century went in-vain.

The List (From) Pakistan: Imtiaz Ahmed, Intikhab Alam, Sadiq Mohammad, Mushtaq Mohammad, Rameez Raja, Wasim Akram, Inzamam-ul-Haq, and Shoaib Malik.

India: Ajit Wadekar, Gundappa Viswanath, Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Dilip Vengsarkar, Krishamachari Srikkanth, Ravi Shastri, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir.