India are once again in command as South Africa end day on the back foot © AFP
India are once again in command as South Africa end day on the back foot © AFP

South Africa end Day 2 of the 3rd Test at Nagpur at 32 for 2 against India. Stiaan Van Zyl and night watchman Imran Tahir were the only two batsman dismissed for 5 and 8 respectively. Amit Mishra struck in his very first delivery of his spell to send Tahir packing. South Africa need a further 278 runs to win the match and level the series 1-1. After bowling out South Africa for 79, India scored 173 in their second innings and therefore managed to set a target of 310. Ravichandran Ashwin had picked up 5 wickets to help India bundle out the visitors cheaply. Tahir picked up 5 wickets for the Proteas to restrict the hosts despite being brought in late. Virat Kohli gave as many overs as possible to his spinners and they managed to get just one wicket in the 14 overs. Live cricket Scorecard: India vs South Africa, 3rd Test, Day 2

JP Duminy scored 35 and everyone around him failed miserably. India had a 166-run lead going into their second innings and their innings did not start as expected. Murali Vijay was dismissed early. Shikhar Dhawan and Cheteshwar Pujara’s partnership extended India’s lead further and kept frustrating the South African bowlers. The duo got into double figures but both of them perished in pursuit of some quick runs. Live Cricket Updates: India vs South Africa 2015, 3rd Test at Nagpur, Day 2

It is unlikely that South Africa will chase these runs down but they will look to give India a run for their money. Indian spinners have been in tremendous form in this series so far and will look to continue their form in this match as well. On Day One, India won the toss and elected to bat first. India have roped in Rohit Sharma in place of Varun Aaron. Also, Stuart Binny was dropped to the bench and Mishra was given an opportunity. Simon Harmer came into the South African side in place of Kyle Abbott.

India lead the series 1-0 after securing an emphatic win at Mohali. The fourth and final Test between the two sides will be played at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi from December 3.

Brief scores:

India 215  (Murali Vijay 40, Wriddhiman Saha 32, Ravindra Jadeja 34; Morne Morkel 3 for 35, Simon Harmer 4 for 78) & 173 (Shikhar Dhawan 39, Cheteshwar Pujara 31; Morne Morkel 3 for 19, Imran Tahir 5 for 38) lead South Africa 79 (JP Duminy, Simon Harmer 13; Ravichandran Ashwin 5 for 32, Ravindra Jadeja 4 for 33) & 29 for 1 (Dean Elgar 10*, Imran Tahir 8; Ravichandran Ashwin 1 for 12, Amit Mishra 1 or 9) by 278 runs.

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Pramod Ananth is a reporter at CricketCountry. He has represented Karnataka table tennis under-15, and is a hardcore supporter of Liverpool FC. His Twitter handle is @pramz)