South Africa elect to bat in fourth ODI against Sri Lanka

AB de Villiers’ side will look to maintain their winning run at home Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Kimberley: Jan 20, 2012

South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in their fourth One-Day International at De Beers Diamond Oval in Kimberley on Friday.

South Africa lead the ODI series 3-0.

Mahela Jayawardene has been ruled out of the match due to an injury, as Sri Lanka have made two more changes in their side. Dhammika Prasad and Kosala Kulasekara are dropped, and will be replaced by Thisara Perera and Lahiru Thirimanne.

Sachithra Senanayake will make his international debut

South Africa have rested Albie Morkel and Dale Steyn.


South Africa: Graeme Smith, Alviro Petersen, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers (c&wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Robin Peterson, Morne Morkel, Waye Parnell, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Vernon Philander.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan (c), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary here