Faf du Plessis, Sarfraz Ahmed and Dinesh Chandimal    Getty Images
Faf du Plessis, Sarfraz Ahmed and Dinesh Chandimal Getty Images

South Africa will play three Test matches against Pakistan and two against Sri Lanka during their 2018-19 summer, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Monday. South Africa will also host a total of 13 ODIs and 9 T20Is against Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Pakistan, who will tour South Africa for the first time since 2013-14, will play the prime holiday season Tests in December and January, with Centurion awarded the Test starting on December 26 and Cape Town the traditional New Year Test starting on January 3. The third Test will be in Johannesburg from January 11.

Pakistan will also play five ODIs and three T20Is. Sri Lanka will play Tests in Durban and Port Elizabeth in February, to be followed by five ODIs and three T20Is. Zimbabwe will play three ODIs and three T20Is at some of South Africa’s smaller cricket venues.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) acting chief executive Thabang Moroe said that the scheduled 13 ODIs during the season would enable the national team to fine tune their preparations for the 2019 Cricket World Cup in England.


Zimbabwe in South Africa:

September 30: 1st ODI, Kimberley

October 3rd: 2nd ODI, Bloemfontein

October 6: 3rd ODI, Paarl

October 9: 1st T20I, East London

October 12: 2nd T20I, Potchefstroom

October 14: 3rd T20I, Benoni

Pakistan in South Africa

December 19-21: SA Invitation XI, Benoni

December 26-30: 1st Test, Centurion

January 3-7: 2nd Test, Cape Town

January 11-15 : 3rd Test, Johannesburg

January 19: 1st ODI, Port Elizabeth

January 22: 2nd ODI Durban

January 25: 3rd ODI, Centurion

January 27: 4th ODI, Johannesburg

January 30: 5th ODI, Cape Town

February 1: 1st T20I, Cape Town

February 3: 2nd T20I, Johannesburg

February 6: 3rd T20I, Centurion

Sri Lanka in South Africa

February 13-17: 1st Test, Durban

February 21-25: 2nd Test, Port Elizabeth

February 28: SA Invitation XI, Benoni

March 3: 1st ODI, Johannesburg

March 6: 2nd ODI, Centurion

March 10: 3rd ODI, Durban

March 13: 4th ODI, Port Elizabeth

March 16: 5th ODI, Cape Town

March 19: 1st T20I, Cape Town

March 22: 2nd T20I, Centurion

March 24: 3rd T20I, Johannesburg