No Test in Durban during England tour of South Africa

South Africa on Friday announced the dates for a tour by England which will include four Tests, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals.

The Test series will start in Centurion on December 26, followed by South Africa’s traditional New Year Test at Newlands in Cape Town, starting on January 3.

The remaining Tests will be in Port Elizabeth and Johannesburg.

England will play two warm-up matches before the Tests, a two-day game against an Invitation XI and a three-day match against South Africa A. Both fixtures will be in Benoni.

Cricket South Africa chief executive Thabang Moroe said the series would have special significance, “as this will be our first home series in the ICC World Test championship following our away series in India in October.”

South Africa will also host Australia for three Twenty20 internationals and three one-day internationals, starting five days after England’s final fixture on February 16.

South Africa’s 2019/20 home fixtures:

England tour

December 17-18: Invitation XI, Benoni

December 20-22: South Africa A, Benoni

December 26-30: First Test, Centurion

January 3-7: Second Test, Cape Town

January 16-20: Third Test, Port Elizabeth

January 24-28″: Fourth Test, Johannesburg


February 4: First one-day international, Cape Town

February 7: Second one-day international, Durban

February 9: Third one-day international, Johannesburg

February 12: First Twenty20 international, East London

February 14: Second Twenty20 international, Durban

February 16: Third Twenty20 international, Centurion

Australia tour

February 21: First Twenty20 international, Johannesburg

February 23: Second Twenty20 international, Port Elizabeth

February 26: Third Twenty20 international, Cape Town

February 29: First one-day international, Paarl

March 4: Second one-day international, Bloemfontein

March 7: Third one-day international, Potchefstroom