South Africa win toss, elect to bat first against New Zealand in the third T20 at Port Elizabeth

South Africa will be chasing a series win in the final T20 against New Zealand © Getty Images

Port Elizabeth: Dec 26, 2012

South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand in the third and the final T20 at Port Elizabeth. Both sides are chasing a series win after New Zealand’s thrilling victory at Pietermaritzburg to level the three-match series at 1-1.

After hosts South Africa registered a comfortable eight-wicket victory against New Zealand in the first T20 match at Durban on Friday, the Brendon McCullum-led New Zealand came back to win the second T20 by in a sensational manner to keep the series alive.

New Zealand, who arrived to South Africa as the clear underdogs, now have the momentum on their going into the final T20 on Boxing Day.
While New Zealand retained the same XI from the second T20, South Africa have brought in Justin Ontong for the out-of-sorts opener Richard Levi.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis(c), Quinton de Kock(wk), Justin Ontong, Henry Davids, Farhaan Behardien, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Rory Kleinveldt, Aaron Phangiso

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum(c & wk), Rob Nicol, James Franklin, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Doug Bracewell, Ronnie Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Martin Guptill

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the third Twenty20 match at Port Elizabeth between South Africa and New Zealand here