Angelo Mathews will lead the Pune Warriors India in the sixth season of the Indian Premier League © AFP

Hyderabad: Apr 5, 2013

New-comers Sunrisers Hyderabad take on Pune Warriors India at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in the third match of the Pepsi IPL 2013 today.

Resold and slightly repackaged, Hyderabad are back in the IPL with a new name and a rather easy opening awaits them when they take on last season’s laggards Pune Warriors here tomorrow.

Missing from the line-up of the Sunrisers Hyderabad, as they are called now, would be star batsman Shikhar Dhawan, who knocked up the fastest Test century on debut against Australia last month.

Despite this, the Sunrisers would be quite a handful for the Warriors. The team, which retained Kumar Sangakkara as captain despite having a different owner after Deccan Chronicle Group pulled out due to its financial woes.
Pune Warriors, on the other hand, suffered a setback when Australian Michael Clarke was ruled out of the entire IPL season due to a recurring back injury.

But the return of Yuvraj Singh and the presence of Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis and New Zealand’s Ross Taylor has bolstered the team.

The Warriors, coached by former South African great Allan Donald, also feature some promising domestic stars such as all-rounder like Abhishek Nayar and Parveez Rasool, the first player from Jammu and Kashmir to have been signed by an IPL franchise.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Akshath Reddy, Parthiv Patel (wk), Kumar Sangakkara (c), Cameron White, Hanuma Vihari, Thisera Perera, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Amit Mishra,  Ashish Reddy, Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma

Pune Warriors India Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey,  Ross Taylor, Yuvraj Singh, Marlon Samuels, Angelo Mathews, Mitchell Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Rahul Sharma

Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of the match between SRH and PWI here

Catch the live blog of the match between SRH and PWI here