Sri Lanka elect to bat against Bangladesh in 3rd ODI

Sri Lanka will aim for a 2-0 win against Bangladesh © AFP

Pallekele: Mar 28, 2013

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat against Bangladesh in their third and final One-Day International at the Pallekele International Stadium on Thursday.

Sri Lanka lead the three-match ODI series, winning the first ODI by eight wickets while the second tie was washed out.

In the first ODI, Tillakaratne Dilshan hit a blazing century as he helped his team chase down a revised total of 238 to register a comprehensive eight-wicket victory against Bangladesh.

After a lot of interruptions due to faulty flood lights, the Sri Lankan innings was delayed and eventually the target was revised to 238 with just 41 overs to play.

Openers Dilshan and Kushal Perera got off to a flying start as they were scoring at just under 10 runs per over. Perera was dismissed in the 13th over after he scored 42 off just 35 deliveries.


Sri Lanka: Kushal Janith Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews (c), Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga

Bangladesh: Jahurul Islam, Anamul Haque, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim (c&wk), Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the third ODI between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at Pallekele here