Sri Lanka elect to bowl against Australia in third ODI

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene will hope for an improvised performance from his side Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Perth: Feb 10, 2012

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bowl against Australia in the third One-Day International of the Commonwealth Bank tri-series at the WACA Ground in Perth on Friday.

Sri Lanka’s top order batsmen will have to deliver when they go into their second tri-series cricket match against formidable Australia on Friday, hoping to revive their fortunes after a series of indifferent shows of late.

Except for youngster Dinesh Chandimal, no other Lankan batsman could make a substantial contribution against India in the last match and the visitors will be determined to put up a better show.

Australia have lost Brett Lee to injury but youngster Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay did extremely well. They would relish bowling on the bouncy WACA track.

The way the Lankans struggled against off-spinner R Ashwin, role of Xavier Doherty would also be crucial for Australia.


Australia: David Warner, Matthew Wade (wk), Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (c), Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Dan Christian, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

Sri Lanka: Tillaklaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Angelo Mathews, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dhammika Prasad, Lahiru Thirimanne.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the third ODI between Australia and Sri Lanka here