Kumar Sangakkara has been placed in top category in terms of contact list © AFP
Kumar Sangakkara has been placed in the top category in terms of contact list © AFP


Colombo: Feb 28, 2014


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) which had a bitter dispute with its players over payments last year, has announced a seven per cent hike for them across all categories in its latest list of contracts issued.


The National Selection Committee announced the names of 17 contracted players for the year 2014-15. They belong to four categories.


In addition, three players — Prasanna Jayawardena, the Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga — have been placed on a special category.


The senior players — Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Dinesh Chandimal — are in the top category.


Chandimal, the Twenty20 International (T20I) captain, has won a promotion from category 2. In the category Two are Lahiru Thirimanne and Ajantha Mendis.


Kusal Janith Perera, the opening batsman who scored his maiden One-Day International (ODI) century last week in?Bangladesh has been promoted to category 3 joining Thisara Perera the only other player to be listed under Three.


In category Four are Shaminda Eranga, Sachithra Senenayake, Kaushal Silva and Suranga Lakmal. Silva, the opening batsman who had a memorable series against Bangladesh, has won a promotion from the provincial category.


Further explaining the increases, the SLC said players were entitled to the raise based on Sri Lanka’s ICC rankings.


Since Sri Lanka has been ranked fifth in One-Day Internationals (ODIs), the players are entitled for a two per cent increase and being ranked as the top team in the T20I format, the players are entitled to an increase of five per cent.


The players will not be entitled for an increment for the Test category as Sri Lanka is ranked below the fifth position.


Further, there will be incentives for individual performances which will be presented as a one off bonus payment to the top players.


The players who received the bonuses are Kumar Sangakkara (Test batting) Rangana Herath (Test bowling), Kumar Sangakkara and Dilshan (ODI batting) Rangana Herath (ODI bowling) Ajantha Mendis and Nuwan Kulasekara (T20I bowling).