Sri Lanka win toss, ask Australia to bat in third CB Series final at Adelaide

Australia will be playing the third final minus their regular captain Michael Clarke who has been ruled out with hamstring injury Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Adelaide: Mar 8, 2012

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss elected to bowl against Australia in the third final match of the CB Series at the Adelaide Oval on Thursday.

Both the teams are tied 1-1 in the best-of-three finals. Australia will be playing without Michael Clarke and James Pattinson, both of them has been ruled out due to injuries.

Australia have rued the lack of solidity at the top and now that they have it, there is a worry that their lower half isn’t able to shift gears in the final overs.

Australia have planned to keep wickets in hand for the final onslaught against the Sri Lankans but it has never come about as Lasith Malinga led attack has invariably pulled them back.

Before the second finals, Clarke had also been left shaking his head in disgust in the manner they were unable to plug the run-leaks in powerplay and death overs. The second final on Tuesday only reconfirmed the worry as Lankans posted their first 100 inside the first 16 overs.


Australia: David Warner, Matthew Wade(wk), Shane Watson (c), Peter Forrest, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Daniel Christian, Brett Lee, Xavier Doherty, Clint McKay, Nathan Lyon.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the third final at Adelaide here