Sri Lanka win toss, elects to bowl against Australia in fifth ODI at Hobart

After a string of poor batting performances, Australia will be aiming to fire up in the final ODI match at Hobart © Getty Images

Hobart: Jan 23, 2013

Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss in the fifth and final One-Day International (ODI) against Australia and opted to field first.

Jayawardene will be leading the team for one last timebefore he steps down as captain following the series. He will hope to go out on a high by sealing the five-match series with a win. The visitors lead the series 2-1.

Michael Clarke is injured and has been replaced by Glenn Maxwell. As a result, George Bailey will lead the side in his absence.

The fourth ODI was washed out which left the Sri Lankan captain fuming.


Australia: Phillip Hughes, David Warner, George Bailey (c), David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), Moises Henriques, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Angelo Mathews, Kushal Janith Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.