Sri Lanka win toss, elects to bowl against New Zealand

Sri Lanka will play five ODIs and two T20s against Australia © AFP

Colombo: Jan 2, 2013

In a meeting held on December 28, 2012, the National selectors in Sri Lanka named the 16-man squad for the upcoming ODI and T20 series against Australia, as reported by

The team is currently playing the Test series ,with the third and last match to begin from Thursday. Despite injuries to crucial players like Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka will be chasing history as they look to register first Test win in Australia.

While the chances look slim, there is only pride to play for, for Sri Lanka and they are expected to come hard against the home side who have already won the series 2-0.

Limited-overs captain Mahela Jayawardene will hope that the final Test will change the fortunes of his side and hand them the momentum going into the ODI and T20 series.

Sri Lanka will play five ODIs and two T20s starting on January 11.

Sri Lankan squad:

Mahela Jayawardena (c), Angelo Mathews, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanna, Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhanajaya, Ajantha Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Kushal Janith Perera, Shaminda Eranga