Steven Smith’s controversial catch: ICC issues clarification
Smith's catch: ICC issues clarification

Oct 13, 2014
Steven Smith took magnificent catch to dismiss Fawad Alam in the third One-Day International (ODI) between Australia and Pakistan at Abu Dhabi. There was some controversy over the legality of the catch as Smith had moved from first-slip towards leg-slip to take that catch as Alam shaped up to play it. However, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has issued a clarification regarding that and has stated the umpires were right in giving it out. READ: Frame-by-frame analysis of Steven Smith’s catch
In a press release, the ICC said the law was as follows: “As long as the movement of a close catching fielder is in response to the striker’s actions (the shot he/she is about to play or shaping to play), then movement is permitted before the ball reaches the striker. On the day, if umpires believe any form of significant movement is unfair (in an attempt to deceive the batsman), then the Law still applies.”
There was initially a word that according the laws of cricket, the fielder isn’t allowed to make significant movement before the ball reached the striker. Smith had moved as Alam got into position and this interpretation issued by the ICC makes it clear that Smith’s catch was legal. The ICC have asked the umpires to take up this interpretation and that this was discussed during a recent workshop of match officials in Dubai.