Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine put on 105 off just 37 deliveries for the first wicket against RCB © BCCI
Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine put on 105 off just 37 deliveries for the first wicket against RCB © BCCI

The opening pair of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine — went berserk in Match 46 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru as they notched up the highest score in the powerplay in the history of the tournament. The duo scored 105 in the first 6 overs against Royal Challengers Bangalore, a feat that has never been achieved before. Narine had gone past his fifty, while Lynn was one short of his milestone on his return to the KKR side at that stage. Narine also scored his fifty off just 15 balls – the joint fastest in the tournament history. Narine was dismissed soon after that, for 54 off just 17. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders – Match 46

Lynn too was excellent but was cleaned up by Pawan Negi for 50 off 22. The highest score in the powerplay before this contest was 100 for 2, which was achieved by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). Narine joined Yusuf Pathan when he scored a fifty of 15 balls. Pathan had scored the fastest fifty for KKR against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Hyderabad in 2014. In the ongoing match, KKR were set a target of 159 by RCB. Narine, who usually opens the innings with skipper Gautam Gambhir, came out to open the innings with the returning Lynn. READ: IPL 2017: Rampant Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) pulverise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 10, match 46

Score team Against Venue Date Result
105/0 KKR RCB Bengaluru 5-May-17 Won
100/2 CSK KXIP Mumbai 30-May-14 Lost
90/0 CSK MI Mumbai 17-Apr-15 Won
87/2 KTK RR Indore 15-May-11 Won
86/1 KXIP SRH Hyderabad 14-May-14 Won
84/1 DC DD Centurion 22-May-09 Won

RCB are out of contention of making it to the IPL 10 playoffs, but a win for KKR in this match will out them in pole position of qualifying for the knockout stages of the tournament.