Will Sunrisers Hyderabad be a surprise package this edition as well?    AFP
Will Sunrisers Hyderabad be a surprise package this edition as well? AFP

Say hello to Indian Premier League (IPL). The 10th edition of the cash-rich, much-hyped, most celebrated T20 league across the world will commence from April 5, 2017. And the defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will be brimming with confidence to continue their stellar show and become only the second team to lift the title consecutive times. Led by Australia’s diminutive batsman David Warner, the team have added two of Afghanistan’s talismanic cricketers in their ranks. Leg-spinner Rashid Khan and all-rounder Mohammad Nabi will don an IPL jersey for the first time. This will not only do world of good to their confidence, but it will be a huge boost to an Associate Nation such as Afghanistan. IPL 2017 revised Schedule: Fixture, Dates, Match Timings and Venue Details

SRH made their debut in this T20 spectacle in 2013, after the previous Hyderabad franchisee Deccan Chargers were terminated as they failed to fulfil their commitments. However, now owned by Sun TV channel’s Kalanithi Maran, the team’s home ground is Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

All the same, the team boasts of top-class international players. From India’s Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, and Ashish Nehra to New Zealand’s Kane Williamson to Australia’s Ben Cutting, the team has class-apart cricketers in their armoury. Captain Warner was the second highest run-scorer of the previous season, only behind the staggering Virat Kohli. He scored 848 runs at 38.32, including 9 half-centuries. To add to it, he has Dhawan as his opening partner, who scored 501 runs at 38.5 inclusive of 4 half-centuries.

The team has a strong brigade of pacers. With Nehra as the spearhead, they have Barinder Sran, Mustafizur Rahman, Chris Jordon, among others. Above all, Bhuvneshwar Kumar ended up as the highest wicket-taker of the season. He took 23 wickets at 7.42. Rashid Khan eager to spend time with childhood hero Yuvraj Singh

Date Teams Venue Time Day
Apr-08 Kings XI Punjab Rising Pune Supergiant Indore 4:00 PM Sat
Apr-10 Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore Indore 8:00 PM Mon
Apr-13 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Kolkata 8:00 PM Thu
Apr-15 Delhi Daredevils Kings XI Punjab Delhi 8:00 PM Sat
Apr-17 Sunrisers Hyderabad Kings XI Punjab Hyderabad 8:00 PM Mon
Apr-20 Kings XI Punjab Mumbai Indians Indore 8:00 PM Thu
Apr-23 Gujarat Lions Kings XI Punjab Rajkot 4:00 PM Sun
Apr-28 Kings XI Punjab Sunrisers Hyderabad Mohali 8:00 PM Fri
Apr-30 Kings XI Punjab Delhi Daredevils Mohali 4:00 PM Sun
May-05 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kings XI Punjab Bengaluru 8:00 PM Fri
May-07 Kings XI Punjab Gujarat Lions Mohali 8:00 PM Sun
May-09 Kings XI Punjab Kolkata Knight Riders Mohali 8:00 PM Tue
May-11 Mumbai Indians Kings XI Punjab Mumbai 8:00 PM Thu
May-14 Rising Pune Supergiant Kings XI Punjab Pune 4:00 PM Sun

SRH, nonetheless, bought 8 players in this auction, managing to save INR 12.15 crores. But the factor that keeps them ahead is the number of all-rounders they have in their side. Nabi, for that matter, is handy with his off-breaks, and his ability to use the long handle to devastating effect is no news. Rashid, on the other hand, is a leg-break bowler who can be as blasting as Nabi. Then there is Henriques, a fast-bowling all-rounder along with Cutting. If anything, Jordan can hit a few sixes at will. All in all, SRH are in top contention to waltz to final glory.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad: David Warner (c), Naman Ojha (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Mustafizur Rahman, Bipul Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Barinder Sran, Moises Henriques, Ricky Bhui, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nabi, Eklavya Dwivedi, Pravin Tambe, Tanmay Agarwal, Rashid Khan, Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Mohammad Siraj, Chris Jordan, Ben Laughlin