SRH will hope that their top order fires once again © IANS
SRH will hope that their top order fires once again © IANS

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) clash in Match 48 of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Monday. Sunrisers Hyderabad edge Delhi Daredevils by six runs in IPL 2015 match at Raipur

SRH enter the game in high spirits after knocking Delhi Daredevils (DD) out of the competition with a six-run victory in the 45th match of the tournament. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and for once Ishant Sharma showed great maturity in the last two overs. Along with some good fielding, the pair managed to stifle the run-flow despite Delhi having six wickets in hand with Kedar Jadhav batting in the 60s.

The one move that the SRH management can afford is to replace Praveen Kumar, who went for 34 runs from two overs, with either Dale Steyn or Trent Boult, which could mean one of the overseas players sitting out in order to bolster SRH’s bowling. Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2015 Match 45 highlights

In the batting department, Moises Henriques came of age with a 46-ball 74, that helped propel his side to 163 in 20 overs, and will be an added boost to the middle-order along with Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara.

KXIP have already been eliminated from the ongoing tournament, having lost nine out of the 11 games that they have played in the tournament, and will now aim to play for a consolation win or two. They were tragically denied that in their last game against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), in which they lost the game by a wicket With just one ball to spare. Now that they do not have much to lose, they might want to consider giving Virender Sehwag another chance in their remainder matches of the tournament. Why IPL 2015 is virtually over for KXIP, DD, SRH and MI

SRH got the better of KXIP in the first encounter between the two sides in the eighth edition of the IPL at Mohali. SRH rode on David Warner’s half-century to finish on 150 for six, before disciplined spells by Trent Boult and Bhuvneshwar Kumar guided their side to a 20-run win.

The only game that the venue of the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium has hosted in the tournament so far was the high-scoring game between SRH and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on May 2, with Warner once again top-scoring for his side as the hosts set a 193-run target. Chennai ultimately fell 22 runs short of Hyderabad’s total. IPL 2015: Andre Russell has become Kings XI Punjab’s nemesis, says Sanjay Bangar


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Dale Steyn, Karn Sharma, KL Rahul, Ishant Sharma, Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, NamanOjha, Praveen Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Ashish Reddy, Parvez Rasool, Moises Henriques, Ravi Bopara, Ricky Bhui, Chama Milind, Eoin Morgan, Prasanth Padmanabhan, Bipul Sharma, Hanuma Vihari.

Kings XI Punjab(KXIP): George Bailey (c), Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Mitchell Johnson, Murali Vijay, Shaun Marsh, Akshar Patel, Sandeep Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Manan Vohra, Thisara Perera, Rishi Dhawan, Anureet Singh, Karanveer Singh, Nikhil Naik, Parvinder Awana, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Yogesh Golwalkar, Beuran Hendricks, Shivam Sharma, Shardul Thakur.

Time: 20:00 local | 14:30 GMT

(Amit Banerjee, a reporter at CricketCountry, takes keen interest in photography, travelling, technology, automobiles, food and, of course, cricket. He can be followed on Twitter via his handle @akb287)