Robin Uthappa © IANS
Robin Uthappa © IANS


May 28, 2014


After more than 20 minutes of the match was lost due to a rain delay, the new batsmen Ryan ten Doeschate and Suryakumar Yadav had to repair the innings in double click time. Suryakumar was on the move with a huge six, shuffling across the stumps and heaving on the leg side. Surya Kumar went berserk of the next over and smashed two sixes on the leg side and a boundary and played all over a harmless Karandeep delivery and was bowled.


Rishi Dhawan was on for the 14th over and it witnessed a big six over long off by Yusuf Pathan and the batsmen were getting a move on with the score. Kolkata’s run-flow had dried down in the middle overs but in the fifteenth over, shakib smashed a six over long-on. Punjab found an unlikely hero in Karanveer Singh with Shakib holing out to long on after not getting the elevation. Yusuf played a tame shot and David Miller took yet another catch.


Earlier, George Bailey won the toss and elected to field first. Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) went in with the same team. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) made just the one change, as leg-spinner Piyush Chawla came in to the side at the expense of R Vinay Kumar. Glenn Maxwell, sporting a clean-shaven look, said that KXIP were only looking at going match-by-match at this point.


Catch Live Scorecard of the Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab here


Catch ball-by-ball commentary of the match here


Click here for IPL 2014 playoffs Schedule


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings