Fluent knocks by Shreevats Goswami (80 off 55) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (46 off 35) helped Bengal thrash Railways by six wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali 2019 tournament s Super League Group A stage on Friday.

Chasing 143, Bengal lost Wriddhiman Saha for nought in the first over after he fell to Ashish Yadav. Goswami then found an able partner in Easwaran as the duo forged 95 runs for the second wicket. Easwaran, who tonked seven fours in his 35-ball stay at the crease, fell four runs short of his half-century after Yadav returned to claim his second scalp. (ALSO READ: Vidarbha outplay Delhi to seal 9-wicket win)

Captain Manoj Tiwary added just four before, while Goswami continued to fire at the other end. He added 80 to the run-chase, his innings decorated with nine boundaries and two hits over the fence as Bengal chased down the target in 18.1 overs. (ALSO READ: Jharkhand prevail in last-ball thriller)

Earlier, after losing openers Mrunal Devdhar and Pratham Singh early, Railways had Yadav to thank after his half-century took them to 142/6. Prashant Gupta was the next highest scorer with 39 off 31 which included five fours and a solitary six. For Bengal, Sayan Ghosh snapped two for 26 in his four overs.

Brief scores: Bengal 143/4 in 18.1 overs (Shreevats Goswami 80, Abhimanyu Easwaran 46; Ashish Yadav 2/20) beat Railways 142/6 (Yadav 51; Sayan Ghosh 2/26) by six wickets