Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Round 2

An all-round Assam thrashed Mizoram by 131 runs to record their first win of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 on Friday.

After quick half-centuries from Riyan Parag (63*) and Rishav Das (56) powered Assam to 201/4 at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, Mizoram’s scratchy batting saw them managing just 70/6 in reply.

Mizoram captain Taruwar Kohli opted to field but his new ball bowlers were up for some beating as Assam openers Pallavkumar Das and Rishav led a bright start, adding 79 runs in 8 overs. Kohli struck with the wicket of Pallavkumar on 43 to bring some respite but the run flow continued.

Assam did lose two wickets in quick succession but that didn’t impact the late flurry of boundaries. Wasiqur Rahman hit one four and two sixes in his 7-ball 20 while Parag remained unbeaten, hitting six fours and two sixes setting a mammoth target.

Mizoram lost Akhil Rajput to Abu Nechim in the first over itself by the time Powerplay overs were done, Kohli had also been sent back after hitting two fours in his 15-ball 16.

Assam captain Amit Sinha used eight bowlers with Abu Nechim (2/16) and Jitumoni Kalita (2/8) picking up two wickets each. Pallavkumar and Deepak Gohain chipped in with a wicket each.

Lalhruaizela top-scored for Mizoram as he crawled to 24 off 55, hitting one four to remain unbeaten.

Brief Scores: Assam 201/4 (Riyan Parag 63*, Rishav Das 56) beat Mizoram 70/6 (Lalhruaizela 24*; Jitumoni 2/8) by 131 runs