Symonds to replace Tendulkar in Mumbai Indians' squad

Andrew Symonds in action during the Indian Premier League 4 AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Mumbai: Sep 22, 2011

Australian all-rounder Andrew Symonds will replace Sachin Tendulkar in the Mumbai Indians squad for the upcoming Champions League T20, which is all set to begin on September 23.

The Champions League T20 Technical Committee has also approved few more changes in the MI squad. Injured players such as Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ali Murtaza, Munaf Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni will be replaced by Andrew Symonds, Dilhara Fernando, R. Sathish, Sarul Kanwar, Abu Nechim Ahmed.

The committee has also got the medical reports that have ruled out two more Mumbai Indians’ players – Aditya Tare and Pawan Suyal – out of the tournament. The Mumbai Indians have now lost as many as eight players to injuries.

NDTV reported that in this situation, if the Mumbai Indians suffer one more injury to an Indian player, they will be unable to play as the rules clearly say that only four overseas players are allowed in a side in any one match.

But, given the number of injuries, the CLT20 Governing Council has now approved a recommendation by the Technical Committee, which says that Mumbai Indians will be allowed to select up to five overseas players.

This recommendation is also applicable for all other teams.

The present squad of the MI consists of 14 players and they can add another player from their remaining injury-free contract list if they choose.

The Mumbai Indians will clash with Chennai Super Kings at 20. 00 on Saturday at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Mumbai Squad:

Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Andrew Symonds, James Franklin, Aiden Blizzard, Davy Jacobs, Kieron Pollard, Dilhara Fernando, R. Sathish, Ambati Rayudu, Tirumalasetti Suman, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Abu Nechim Ahmed.