Live Updates

  • 9:46 PM IST

    A comprehensive victory for KK as they win their second match in a row. MSg could only muster up 97 in their chase of 150 thanks to an all rounder performance by Rajkumar who score 46 and also took 4 wickets in the second innings. MSG are in deep trouble as they are yet to win a single match in this TNPL. Lot of action today but there will be tomorrow as well as the tournament of TNPL continues its extravaganza tomorrow as well

  • 9:14 PM IST

    Live: MSG 60/6 Overs 10 | Shijit Chandran 23, Mann Bafna 2: Wickets are tumbling for MSG. Things are not at all looking good for them as they have lost 6 wickets in the first 10 overs and they still have to chase 90 runs in the next 10 overs

  • 8:52 PM IST

    Live: MSG 46/3 Overs 7 | Shijit Chandran 19, Francis Rokin 7: MSG is in trouble here as they have lost 3 wickets in quick succession. They have a decent total in front of them and they will have to make sure that they do not loose any further wickets as they might find it tough to chase the target of 150 very difficult

  • 8:04 PM IST

    Live: KK 149/7 Overs 20: A brilliant batting effort from R Rajkumar saw KK cross 130 easily. They were tumbling bit time when he came to the crease. But he took on the bowlers of MSG and he displayed great batting. What a knock I must say! But irrespective of this, other batsman failed to capitalise as they kept on loosing their wickets. KK would be happy with the way their innings has ended at 149.

  • 7:29 PM IST

    Live: KK 85/4 Overs 15 | Srikkanth Anirudha 12, R Rajkumar 3:KK innings is tumbling big time. They are loosing wickets in quick intervals. Their batsman trying to go for big ones are ending up loosing their wickets. With main batsman gone back their is a big challenge for the next batsman to put up a decent total on board. This match would be on a the verge of becoming a low scoring as it doesn’t seem like KK will be able to put a dominating total on board.

  • 7:08 PM IST

    Live: KK 57/2 Overs 10 | S Badrinath 18, Vishal Vaidhya 3:KK are loosing their way. They atre scoring at less then 6 RPO and this is something which KK cannot afford. With the fact that they are scoring very less runs and also that they have lost 2 wickets, they have big task in front of them in the last 10 overs as they have to put a challenging total against MSG if they want ot win this match.

  • 6:51 PM IST

    Live: KK 33/1 Overs 5 | S Badrinath 8,Rajhamany Srinivasan 7: KK have got to a good start despite they loosing the wicket of Vijay Kumar. With Badrinath at the crease, he will have to make sure that he stays at the crease for as much as time he can. MSG have had some close situations as they had 2-3 chances of run outs but they could not capitalise much on those chances. If they want to get any supremacy in the match they will have to make sure that don’t miss any further chances

Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s live match coverage of the 16th match of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) which will be played between Madurai Super Giants (MSG) and Karaikudi Kaalai (KK). The MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai will be the venue for today’s clash and you can expect another thriller coming towards you. Both the teams have played three matches so far in the tournament. MSG has lost all the matches while KK has won one of the three and have lost the two. While MSG have not had a good tournament at all, they will have to come back strong in today’s game. Karaikudi Kaalai lost the first two matchers but saw some ray of hope for themselves as they won the last encounter. Let’s see what this clash has in store for us. Stay tuned folks! Who knows, another super over might just be on its way. READ: Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2016 Points Table & Team Standings

The Super Giants are yet to open their account and Karaikudi Kaalai won their last game to ensure that they are up and running as far as the points table is concerned. However, Kaalai are at number 6 and the Super Giants are at the bottom of the stack. So, all to play for as two points from this game will push the teams ahead in the points table. This game is extremely important for both the teams as their existence in this league remains hanging on this match.

In match number 15 which took place yesterday, what was another low-scoring thriller in the India Cements TN Premier League, Lyca Kovai Kings beat Chepauk Super Gillies by 11 runs in a match full of twists and turns at the India Cements Limited Ground at Tirunelveli on Monday. This match was a stark contrast to the first game of the day, which was a high-scoring battle between VB Thiruvallur Veerans and Ruby Kanchi Warriors. Gillies, who were chasing 138, got off to a good start thanks to wicketkeeper Gopinath (29).

But things changed dramatically when Ajith Ram (2 for 9) and Harish Kumar (3 for 23) were introduced into the attack. Ajith drew first blood as he dismissed the hard-hitting Gopinath. In the space of four runs, Gillies lost three wickets as Harish Kumar picked two in one over.

Harish and Ajith didn’t give any room to the Gillies batsmen as they stuck to a tight line. After R Satish was dismissed for a duck, Kings tightened the screws as Gillies needed 63 runs to chase in five overs with four wickets in hand. But Gowjith Subash (26) and Antony Dhas (28 not-out) blasted 33 runs in two overs with the former being dropped by M Mohammed on 20.

Kings spilled another chance as Dhas was given a life-line when he was on 10. Though they were successful in running out Subash still Harish just gave just three runs in the 18th over and tilted the match in Kings’ favour. The 19th over had Gillies losing two wickets for two runs which sealed their fate.

Madurai Super Giants (Playing XI): Arun Karthik(w), Shijit Chandran(c), Suresh Kumar, Maan Bafna, Pitchaiayan Sakthi, P Francis Rokins, Singamuthu Thiyagarajan, M Raja, Muruganantham, Palani Amarnath, Edward Kennedy

Karaikudi Kaalai (Playing XI): Srikkanth Anirudha(w), M Vijay Kumar, Rajhamany Srinivasan, S Badrinath(c), K Vishal Vaidhya, R Rajkumar, Chandrasekar Ganapathy, Suresh Babu, Shoaib Md Khan, R Sonu Yadav, S Mohan Prasath