Trinbago Knight Riders won the CPL trophy in the inaugural edition    Getty Images
Trinbago Knight Riders won the CPL trophy in the inaugural edition Getty Images

Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR), the defending champions of Caribbean Premier League (CPL), are all in readiness to add one more title to their trophy cabinet. Led by the star West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, TKR boasts of a prolific T20 squad. They feature superstars such as HashimAmla, Darren Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Colin Munro, Sunil Narine, Ramnaresh Sarwan to name a few. Therefore, it won t be a surprise if they emerge victorious in this year s edition as well. It is a franchise based in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, and their home ground is Queen s Park Oval. It is owned by the possessors of Indian Premier League s (IPL) franchisee named Kolkata Knight Riders. ALSO READ: Chris Lynn masterminds GAW’s win over TKR in Match 5 of CPL 2016

TKR edged past Barbados Tridents at Queen’s Park Oval in the previous edition of CPL and will look to continue their stellar show. With Bravo at the helm, the team looks in top contention. In the recently concluded T20 league, Bravo became the first player to scalp 300 wickets in T20s. One of the best T20 all-rounders of this era, Bravo has a knack of using the long handle to blasting effect. Unquestionably, his contribution will be vital to the team s success.

McCullum, on the other hand, has been one of the most swashbuckling T20 players over the years. Moreover, despite retiring from all forms of the game, he is still the highest run-scorer in T20Is. Another Kiwi, who has taken the cricketing world by storm with his hard-hitting skills, is Munro. A staggering southpaw, he is armed with spectacular T20 shots. Among spinners, they have mystery bowler Narine at their disposal; the only cricketer to bowl a maiden in the super-over. All in all, they have a well-balanced team that keeps them ahead of the race.


Squad: Hashim Amla, Ronsford Beaton, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo (c), Darren Bravo, Yannic Cariah, Kevon Cooper, Anton Devcich, Hamza Tariq, Brendon McCullm, Nikita Miller, Colin Munro, Sunil Narine, William Perkins, Anderson Philip, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Javon Searless, Umar Akmal