Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (AFP Photo)

With the fourth Test at Sydney Cricket Ground ending in a draw, India sealed their first ever series win on Australian soil by virtue of their victories in the first (Adelaide) and third Test (Melbourne).

Thus, under Virat Kohli, India ended their 71-year wait for a Test series win Down Under. India have thus won Test series in England, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand and West Indies with South Africa the sole exception.

Following the confirmation of the historic win on Monday, twitter was flooded with congratulatory wishes with #TeamIndia becoming the top trending topic (non-advertised).

Several former and current cricketers took to the social platforms wishing India on the victory:-