U-19 World Cup: Big Heartbreak for India as Australia takes their 4th title home

Australia has again proved to be victorious crushing the hopes of Team India to win the World Cup

Source: Twitter

Related articles

During their record run-chase against Australia in Sunday’s U-19 World Cup final at Willowmoore Park, Team India encountered several hurdles. In 33.1 overs, Australia reduced India to 128-8 due to the ineffectiveness of superstar Sachin Dhas (9); Uday Saharan (8), Arshin Kulkarni (3), and Musheer Khan (22), among others. Murugan Abhishek (42) remained the only hope for eight-down but his wicket fell and so did the hopes for India to win the World Cup.

Earlier, India managed to restrict Australia for the majority of the innings, but they rallied to post a total of 253/7 in their 50 overs. Oliver Peake, who had entered the match with a previous best score of just 17 in the event, ended up undefeated on 46 off 43 to provide the last push, and Harjas Singh smashed 55 in 64 balls. In his ten overs, pacer Raj Limbani scored 3/38, while Naman Tiwari claimed two wickets for 63 runs. Each of the spinners Saumy Pandey and Musheer Khan claimed a wicket.

Hugh Weibgen of Australia won the toss and elected to bat first, giving India an early lead when Limbani removed opener Sam Konstas in his second over. After that, Weibgen and opener Harry Dixon set up a solid partnership that yielded 78 runs for the second wicket. After that, Tiwari entered the game and removed both batsmen in quick succession, allowing India to regain control. Then Harjas Singh entered the game and, with some tremendous smashes, especially against the spinners, he broke out of the bad form that had dogged him throughout the competition. Before Limbani reappeared and dismissed Ryan Hicks for 20 off 25, he amassed the most of his runs in a 66-run partnership with him off just 68 balls for the fourth wicket.

Both India and Australia advanced to the championship game after two incredibly tight semifinal wins. Australia was forced to the limit by Pakistan and won by one wicket with five balls remaining, while India defeated South Africa by two wickets with seven balls remaining.

trending this week